Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management
235 Promenade St., Providence, RI 02908-5767 TDD 401.711
v 2020-2021 REGULATED MEDICAL WASTE TRANSPORTER PERMIT APPLICATION

READ THE ENTIRE APPLICATION CAREFULLY!!
Dear Medical Waste Transporter:

Enclosed is your application to apply for/renew a permit to transport MEDICAL WASTE through and
within the state of Rhode Island for the permit period ending June 30, 2021.

RI Dept of Environmental Management
Office of Management Services

235 Promenade Street

Providence, R1 02908

Please complete and return these forms and check to the above address. Do not submit the application and
attachments in a binder. Allow three (3) to five (5) weeks for processing. If there are deficiencies in the
application, the Department will contact you via phone call or email. You will receive your permit and vinyl
decals for your vehicle/s when the application is approved and should contact this office if you do not hear
from us by the end of the 5 weeks processing period.

Renewal applications for the new fiscal year are due May 1, 2020.
NEW MEDICAL WASTE REGULATIONS

The Department promulgated New Medical Waste Regulations effective 10/10/10. The fee structure for
permitting vehicles has changed such that you are no longer required to permit both the tractor and trailer of a
vehicle separately.

Now, only the powered unit of the vehicle requires a fee with an associated cost of $125/vehicle. For the
complete Medical Waste Regulations see https://rules.sos.ri.gov/organizations/subchapter/250-140-15.

TRAINING REQUIREMENTS

Also in the amended Regulations from 2010 is a requirement that all personal authorized to transport or
otherwise handle Regulated Medical Waste must be trained and certified in the hazards of blood borne
pathogens. This list must be amended when new individuals are hired. Certificates of training for blood borne
pathogens for each driver should be included with this application.

INSPECTIONS

The Department has implemented a COMPANY-CERTIFIED inspection program, thus eliminating the
need for RIDEM staff inspections. Each company is required to list designated company inspectors who will
perform inspections and attest to the accuracy of each inspection. A checklist for a unit inspection is
attached. Please make copies of this form and submit one checklist for each powered unit you wish to
permit. Each checklist submitted to this office must contain the signature of a designated inspector and these
forms will be used as legal documents in the event of an enforcement action against the company. The
Department will continue to perform random, unannounced vehicle inspections. Companies must maintain
strict compliance with the requirements at all times. Units found to be deficient upon inspection are subject
to administrative penalties.



https://rules.sos.ri.gov/organizations/subchapter/250-140-15

Upon approval of a company's application, decals will be issued for the specific units for which a checklist
and a $125 per powered unit fee have been submitted. These decals are NOT TRANSFERRABLE and are
to be placed on the driver's side of the permitted powered unit.

SPILL MANAGEMENT PLANS

All medical transporters are required to submit an emergency spill management plan in accordance with
Rule 14.7 of the regulations. This spill management plan must be updated when any changes occur or every
five years. This contingency plan must be on each vehicle at all times.

FEES

A fee of $125.00 (made payable to the General Treasurer, State of Rhode Island) must be submitted to the
Office of Waste Management, per the attached remittal form, at the time the application is submitted. This
will be credited to the cost of the first unit. You must submit $125 for each additional powered unit to be
permitted. No decals will be issued until payment is received.

(Note: If the units are separate, the cost to permit one tractor (or powered unit) is $125. Trailers are no
longer required to be permitted as separate units.) All additional fees and inspection checklists must be
accompanied by the Check Remittal Form and submitted to the Office of Waste Management.

To improve the efficiency of the permitting process for both the Department and the regulated community,
the Department does not require the submission of individual checklists for each vehicle for electronic filers.
To be eligible to file electronically, the company must submit a Medical Waste Transporter Electronic
Submittal Form, along with their application and accompanying data in the Department’s spreadsheet
format only. The data may be sent on floppy disk or by e-mail. Contact the Office of Waste Management
(alyson.brunelli@dem.ri.gov ) if you wish to file electronically.

SEMI-ANNUAL REPORTS

As specified in section 14.13 of the Regulations, medical waste transporters are required to file a report
semi-annually with the Department. Report specifications can be found in Appendix III of the regulations.
Please contact Alyson Brunelli for an electronic copy of the Department required format of these reports.

THIS APPLICATION MUST BE ACCOMPANIED BY THE FOLLOWING:

An application fee of one hundred and twenty five dollars ($125) must be submitted to the Office of Waste
Management accompanied by the enclosed remittal form. The check must be made payable to the General
Treasurer, State of Rhode Island. This application fee will be credited to one unit listed on the application.
An additional one hundred and twenty five dollars ($125) per powered unit will be required for each
additional unit. All fees must be accompanied by the remittal form and paid before a decal is issued.

An original (not photocopy or carbon copy) certificate of liability insurance issued in the name of the Office
of Waste Management, Department of Environmental Management in the amount of at least one million
dollars ($1,000,000.00).


mailto:alyson.brunelli@dem.ri.gov

The company must submit for review and approval, a description of the procedures to be employed by the
transporter, pursuant to Rule 14.7 of the Regulations, in response to spills or other emergency situations that
could arise during transporting operations. Specific reference must be made to:

1) Type and location of emergency equipment on vehicles.
2) The driver’s emergency response instructions including:
1) Instructions to immediately notify the RIDEM at (401) 222-2797
(daytime) or (401) 222-2284 (24-hour).
i1) The name and phone # of an emergency spill clean-up company.
iil) Procedures for spill containment.
1v) Reference to the Medical Waste Spill Report to be filed with the
Director within 48 hours of a spill pursuant to Rule 14.7¢ of the
Medical Waste Regulations.

All correspondences should be addressed to Alyson Brunelli at (401) 222-2797 (ext. 7134) e-mail
alyson.brunelli@dem.ri.gov.



mailto:alyson.brunelli@dem.ri.gov

Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management
235 Promenade St., Providence, Rl 02908-5767 TDD 401.711

\>/

PERMIT # RI (If renewal) -

1. COMPANY NAME:

2. MAILING ADDRESS:

3. CITY: STATE: ____ ZIP:

4. PHONE:

5. LOCATION:

6. CITY: STATE: Zip:

7. COMPANY OWNER:

8. COMPANY EMERGENCY CONTACT:

9. PHONE:

10. FAX:

11. COMPANY REGULATORY CONTACT:

12. PHONE:

13. FAX:

14. EMAIL:

15. INSURANCE COMPANY::

16. POLICY # EXPIRATION DATE:

17. IS THE APPLICATION ONLY FOR THE PURPOSE OF SELF-TRANSPORTING
WASTE YOU GENERATE|True/False|? [Your status as a self transporter will be indicated on
our web site]



18.

19.

IS THIS IS A RENEWAL APPLICATION? YES NO

If yes, have you made changes to:
Designated Manifest Signer List? Yes No
Contingency Plan? Yes No
Training Plan? Yes No
Business Concern Disclosure Statement? Yes No

If yes to any above, you must submit the updated information with this application.

STORAGE OF PERMITTED VEHICLES (complete if storage location is different
than the address in item 1:

MAILING ADDRESS (if different) :

CITY STATE 71P

20. Location of Licensed Transfer Activities or Collection Points within Rhode Island

21.

(If applicable):

MAILING ADDRESS

CITY: STATE 7IP

PHONE ( )

List all Destination Facilities used by your company for Medical Waste generated in
Rhode Island:

Company Location Telephone #




22. The following personnel are authorized by

sign the Medical waste Tracking Form:

(Company Name)

to

Name (Print or Type)

Signature*

* Designated emplovees must sign this form to signify their acceptance of this

responsibility.




Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management
' 235 Promenade St., Providence, Rl 02908-5767 TDD 401.711

<y

REMITTAL FORM FOR MEDICAL WASTE TRANSPORTERS
* % % * ALL APPLICANTS PLEASE NOTE PROCEDURE * * * *

The permit application form, fee and all accompanying documents must be submitted to:

RI Department of Environmental Management
Office of Waste Management

235 Promenade Street

Providence, RI 02908-5767

This completed form must be provided to coordinate your fee with the application submitted.

Applicant's Name:

Permit #:

Mailing Address:

CITY: STATE : ZIP:

PHONE:

Contact Person:

inspections x $125 per inspection = $ (total amount submitted)

FEE PAID FOR FISCAL YEAR 7/1/20 TO 6/30/20
TYPE OF PERMIT APPLICATION:
a NEW

O RENEWAL - PERMIT NO. RI

(| PREPAID PERMIT (For those wishing to pay for the permit in advance of having
available vehicle information)

Initial and Date here to acknowledge that all PrePaid Vehicles
will be self-inspected and contain all the required safety equipment from page 9 of this
application before being put on the road.

You must send an email to alyson.brunelli@dem.ri.gov to inform the Department when a
permit becomes active.
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Y Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management
235 Promenade St., Providence, Rl 02908-5767 TDD 401.711

Medical Waste Transporter Inspection Form (Electronic Version)

THIS FORM TO BE FILLED OUT FOR VEHICLES ON THE ACCOMPANYING EXCEL SPREADSHEET
(1 CHECKLIST FOR THE ENTIRE GROUP)

APPLICANT: RI Permit # RIMWTRANS: Date:

Fee Submitted: Amount: Check #:

# of Powered Units inspected according to this checklist:

Vehicle Requirements 1.14 Spill Kit

Cargo Body: Required Absorbent Material
Fully Enclosed / Leak resistant (unenclosed trucks
cannot be used as medical waste transporters)

One gallon Disinfectant Sprayer

Good and Sanitary Condition Appropriate Labels
Secure when unattended Two (2) sets moisture resistant overalls,
gloves, boots caps and tape.
Identification (name & number) in letters > 3" on Eye protection
both sides and back of cargo body
Respiratory protection
Required Biohazard / Medical Waste signage Scoop, shovel, broom, bucket
Management of Spills 1.14.G First Aid Kit
Management Plan on Vehicle meeting Requirements Fire Extinguisher

of Rule 14.08
Lights, flares & other appropriate safety
equipment

Communication Device
In Accordance with Rhode Island General Law §23-19.1-18(h):
I hereby certify that I am aware that any person who knowingly makes a false, statement, representation, or certification,

in any application, record, report, plan, permit, or other document filed, maintained and used for the purpose of program
compliance under this chapter shall be deemed guilty of a felony.

Signature of Designated Company Inspector Name (printed) Date



RIDEM/OFFICE OF WASTE MANAGEMENT
‘) 235 PROMENADE STREET
PROVIDENCE, RHODE ISLAND 02908-5767
(401) 222-2797

v Medical Waste Transporter Inspection Form

NO EXCEL SPREAD SHEET

THIS CHECKLIST TO BE USED FOR EACH UNIT
1 CHECKLIST PER POWERED UNIT

APPLICANT: RI Permit # RIMWTRANS: Date:
Fee Submitted: Amount: Check #:

Vehicle Type: Box ~~ Other ~ Capacity Reg. #: State:

Year/ Make: / Last 5 digits of V.ILN.:

Vehicle Requirements 1.14 Spill Kit

Cargo Body: _ Required Absorbent Material

_ Fully Enclosed / Leak resistant (unenclosed trucks
cannot be used as medical waste transporters)
____ One gallon Disinfectant Sprayer
_ Good and Sanitary Condition __ Appropriate Labels

Secure when unattended Two (2) sets moisture resistant overalls,
gloves, boots caps and tape.

Identification (name & number) in letters > 3 on Eye protection
both sides and back of cargo body
Respiratory protection
Required Biohazard / Medical Waste signage Scoop, shovel, broom, bucket
Management of Spills 1.14.G First Aid Kit
Management Plan on Vehicle meeting Regs of Rule 14.7 Fire Extinguisher
Communication Device (cell phone) Lights, flares & other safety equipment

In Accordance with Rhode Island General Law §23-19.1-18(h):

I hereby certify that I am aware that any person who knowingly makes a false, statement, representation, or certification, in any
application, record, report, plan, permit, or other document filed, maintained and used for the purpose of program compliance under
this chapter shall be deemed guilty of a felony.

Signature of Designated Company Inspector Name (printed) Date



Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management
235 Promenade St., Providence, Rl 02908-5767 TDD 401.711

Medical Waste Transporter Permit Application for 2020-2021
Acknowledgement of Regulations and Accuracy of Permit Application

Company Name Permit Number

I , AM FAMILIAR WITH THE
(Print name)

MEDICAL WASTE TRANSPORTER PERMIT RULES AND REGULATIONS AND
CERTIFY THAT ALL

ENTRIES ON THIS APPLICATION ARE TRUE AND CORRECT.

SIGNATURE DATE

TITLE

10
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