Home > News > News Item
RI Department of Environmental Management
235 Promenade Street, Providence, RI 02908
(401) 222-2771 TDD/(401) 222-4462
DEM JOINS NATIONAL "SPRING ABOARD" CAMPAIGN TO PROMOTE BOATING EDUCATION NEXT WEEKPROVIDENCE - The Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management (DEM) is teaming up with the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) next week to promote boating education. As part of the "Spring Aboard" campaign, discounts will be offered on several safety courses for boaters who enroll or complete a class between Sunday, April 17 and Saturday, April 23.
An informed and knowledgeable boat operator is much more likely to recognize hazardous conditions on the water and avoid a mishap. According to the U.S. Coast Guard, only 12 percent of deaths occurred on vessels operated by those with a boating education certificate; 77 percent of boating deaths occurred on vessels where the boat operator never received boating education instruction.
Available courses include:
Boating Skills & Seamanship
April 19 // DEM Headquarters, 235 Promenade Street, Providence
For more information or to register, contact Pat Perrino at firstname.lastname@example.org or call (401) 231-2441.
About Boating Safety
May 14 // Cross Mills Public Library, 4417 Old Post Road, Charlestown
For more information or to register, contact David Johnson at email@example.com or call (401) 783-1170.
About Boating Safety
June 18 // Neighborhood Guild, 325 Columbia Street, Peacedale
To register call (401) 789-9301, or for more information contact David Johnson at firstname.lastname@example.org or call (401) 783-1170.
DEM also offers an online boater education course. Participants must pass a proctored exam to receive certification. For more information on Rhode Island boating laws and boating education courses, visit www.dem.ri.gov.
Forty-nine states and U.S. territories require proof of completion of a boating education course for operators of some powered vessels. In Rhode Island, successful completion of a boating safety course is required for all boaters born after January 1, 1986 who operate a boat with a motor greater than 10 horsepower; and for all operators, regardless of age, of personal watercraft.
Follow DEM on Twitter (@RhodeIslandDEM) or Facebook at www.facebook.com/RhodeIslandDEM for more information on boating in Rhode Island as well as other timely updates.