
On November 20th, 2018, a new revision of the Rhode Island Department of Environmental              
Management UST Regulations went into effect. This was the first revision to the regulations since 2011, 
and was required due to changes in both Federal and State law which requires additional testing to    
comply with new U.S. EPA requirements, as well as re-organization and re-structing to comply with 
Rhode Island Code of Regulations (RICR) formatting. This document highlights some of the major 
changes to the regulations, however does not cover all changes and is meant to serve as a summary of 
major changes only.  

The full copy of the new regulations can be found on the Rhode Island Secretary of State’s website at 
https://rules.sos.ri.gov/regulations/part/250-140-25-1 
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General Requirements: 
 The title of the regulations has been changed to “Rules and Regulations for Underground Storage           

Facilities Used for Regulated Substances”  
 To comply with State-mandated codification requirements, the format and numbering system was changed to 

be consistent with the Rhode Island Code of Regulation (RICR) format  
 Owners and operators of UST systems must cooperate fully with DEM inspections, monitoring, testing, re-

quests for document submission, and monitoring by the owner or operator pursuant to section 9005 of Subtitle I 
of the Solid Waste Disposal Act, 42 U.S.C. §6991d 

 Inconclusive test results are no longer allowed, and any test that does not pass is now considered to be “failed”, 
regardless of the reason 

 Monthly Inventory Reconciliation for Double-walled UST systems is no longer required  
 Monthly checks of groundwater and tank-pad monitoring wells is no longer required 

Facility  Registration (Rule 1.7) 
 Beginning August 1st, 2019, UST registration fees shall be paid via the State of Rhode Island Online Payment 

Portal via credit card, debit card, or ACH EFT. Alternative methods of payment, including checks, money    
orders, or cash will be accepted with a $5 processing fee per tank 

 When registration fees are paid via the State of Rhode Island Online Payment Portal, you will receive a PDF 
copy of your Registration Certificate 

 Starting August 1st, 2019, DEM will no longer mail owners or operators hard copies of registration certificates.  
If an owner or operator wishes to receive a copy of their certificate, they may do so via the following methods: 
Print a copy of the registration certificate when paying via the online payment portal 
Performing an in-person file review of the UST file 
Accessing the public web portal 
Requesting an electronic copy from DEM staff 

 Effective August 1st, 2019, UST registration fees are now $100 per tank per year 
 DEM may issue a delivery prohibition or order an immediate temporary or permanent closure to any UST    

facility that has unpaid or overdue registration fees 
 All changes to registration information must be submitted using the DEM-supplied form available on our web-

site. Verbal and other forms of written communication are not accepted 
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The Rhode Island UST Financial Responsibility Fund (Rule 1.9) 
 The Rhode Island UST Financial Responsibility Fund, previously a separate set of regulations, was incorpo-

rated into the UST Regulations and is now fully administered by RI DEM 
 Facilities with active Immediate Compliance Orders, Expediated Citations, Notices of Violation, Letters of Non-

Compliance, Notices of Intent to Enforce, or Delivery prohibitions, or notice of intent to prohibit delivery are 
ineligible for reimbursement 

 Any facility which has unpaid or overdue registration fees is not eligible for reimbursement 
 Any facility which is found to be in significant violation of the UST Regulations may be ineligible for               

reimbursement and removed from the UST Financial Responsibility Fund 

Minimum UST Operation and Maintenance Requirements (Rule 1.10): 
 Emergency response procedures (instructions on responding to alarms, spills, abnormal events) and         

emergency contacts (Class A or B operator, Fire department, RIDEM emergency response) must be posted in 
location visible and easily accessible to all facility staff 

 Placing any product containing greater than 10% ethanol or 20% biodiesel into a UST system is prohibited 
without prior notification, demonstration of compatibility, and approval from DEM 

 The owner/operator shall not introduce, or allow to be introduced, any material into a UST system that is      
incompatible with the UST system 

 Fuel deliveries to a UST system shall be performed in a manner that ensures that there are no leaks, releases, 
malfunctions, or that hazardous situations develop. All delivery personnel must:  
 Be ready and able to immediately stop the flow of product in to the UST 
 Know the volume of the fuel delivery and ullage of the tank (i.e., empty space in the UST) in advance 
 Monitor the volume of product dispensed into the UST and not relying on the overfill protection device to 

stop the delivery 
 All dispenser hoses must be adequately supported and shall not make contact with the ground when not in use 
 Any dispenser component which shows excessive wear, damage, or evidence of release must be taken out of 

service until repaired or replaced 
 Any dispenser hose breakaway device which has been activated or otherwise separated must be replaced 

unless the manufacturer explicitly allows re-assembly and re-use after activation 

Leak Detection Requirements for Double Walled USTs (Rule 1.10(F)(1)):  
 If the a double-walled UST interstitial space tightness test result is “Fail”, then the owner/operator must have 

the primary wall tightness tested within 48 hours. 
If the primary wall UST is demonstrated as being tight: 
 Any product remaining in the tank may be consumed for up to 30 days 
 Additional deliveries of fuel is prohibited and no additional product may be added until the tank has been 

repaired and passed a final tightness test 
 After 30 days has elapsed, any remaining fuel in the UST must be removed and the UST must be taken 

out of service 
If the primary wall is unable to be tested or fails tightness testing: 
 The UST must be taken out of service immediately 
 The contents of the tank must be removed within 24 hours 
 The tester who performed the test must immediately notify DEM by calling (401) 222-2797. All failed USTs 

must be repaired or replaced within 60 days or placed into temporary closure 
 Repaired USTs must be tested for interstitial tightness before returning to service 
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Leak Detection for Heating Oil Tanks (Rule 1.10(F)(4)):  
Single Walled USTs storing heating fuel of any grade used for on-site heating purposes at commercial and       
industrial facilities are required to be tested for tightness based on the following schedule: 
  Table 1– Single walled heating oil UST tightness testing schedule 

 

 If a single walled UST is constructed of concrete and is unable to be tightness tested using approved        
methods, a subsurface investigation shall be conducted on the same schedule outlined in Table 1 above 

 Double-walled USTs with a dry interstitial space that contain heating oil are required to undergo an interstitial 
tightness test once the tanks have been installed for a period of 30 years and every five years thereafter    
unless they are equipped with an interstitial space monitor. If the installation date is unknown, the UST(s) 
must be tested prior to December 31st, 2021, and every 5 years thereafter 

 Double-walled heating oil USTs with a brine solution or other inert liquid in the interstitial space are not       
required to undergo interstitial tightness testing as long as the interstitial space is continuously monitored for a 
change in fluid level via approved leak detection equipment 

Installation Date Tightness Test Due Date Tightness Test Schedule 

Before 12/31/1970* 12/31/2021 Every 5 Years Thereafter 

1/1/1971-12/31/1980 12/31/2022 Every 5 Years Thereafter 

1/1/1981-12/31/1990 12/31/2023 Every 5 Years Thereafter 

1/1/1991-12/31/2000 12/31/2025 Every 5 Years Thereafter 

1/1/2001-12/31/2010 12/31/2027 Every 5 Years Thereafter 

1/1/2011 and after When UST is 30 years old Every 5 Years Thereafter 

Leak Detection Requirements for Double Walled Product Piping (Rule 1.10(G)(2)): 
 If the results of an product pipeline interstitial space tightness test are fail, the owner shall have the primary 

wall tested for tightness within 48 hours 
   If the primary product pipeline wall is demonstrated as being tight: 

  Any product remaining in the failed product pipeline and all directly-connected USTs that the product 
pipeline services may be consumed for no longer than 30 days 

Additional product may not be added to any UST which services the failed product pipeline until the 
pipeline has been repaired or replaced and demonstrated to be tight 

The tester who performed the test must immediately notify DEM 
After 30 days has elapsed, the product pipeline must be either isolated from the UST, or, if unable, any 

remaining fuel in associated USTs must be removed and the UST taken out of service 
   If the primary wall of the product pipeline is unable to be tested or fails tightness testing: 

The tester must immediately notify DEM 
The owner/operator shall immediately take the failed product line out of service and evacuate its con-

tents and isolate the product pipeline from the all attached USTs 
All failed product pipelines must be repaired or replaced within 60 days or placed into temporary clo-

sure 
 If the product line is repaired or replaced, it must be tested for tightness within 30 days of the repair or 

replacement 
 Operation of a product pipeline which has failed an interstitial space tightness test beyond 30 days is           

     prohibited  
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Leak Detection Requirements for Single-walled USTs and Product Piping (Rule 1.10(G)(3)): 
 All single-walled product pipelines, including pressurized, U.S. suction, and European suction, and all single-

walled USTs shall be tested for tightness by a 3rd party licensed tightness tester on an annual basis, regardless 
of age or installation date 

Tester Responsibilities (Rule 1.10.H): 
 The 3rd party licensed tester and/or the licensed testing company performing the test is solely responsible for 

submitting all data collected during the tightness test, including final test results, to DEM 
 Test results for UST and product piping tightness, line leak detectors, shear/impact valves, leak monitoring de-

vices, overfill prevention equipment, spill containment basins, sumps, and under-dispenser containment must 
be sent to DEM within 30 calendar days from the test date for passing tests and 7 calendar days for failed tests 

 All test results must be submitted using a DEM-provided form, available on our website, and must be completed 
in its entirety. Test results submitted in any format other than the DEM-provided form will not be accepted 

Spill Containment Basins, Sumps, Under-dispenser containment, and Overfill Prevention (Rule 1.10(N)): 
 
    Spill Containment Basins (SCBs) (Rule 1.10(N)(1)): 

 Single-walled SCBs- required to be tested for tightness prior to October 13th, 2021 and a minimum of every 
three years thereafter 

 Any single-walled spill containment basin which has failed tightness testing must replaced within 30 days 
 Single-walled spill containment basins shall not be repaired unless the manufacturer explicitly allows it, has 

an established procedure, and makes the repair materials and/or parts available. Ad hoc, repairs using     
unapproved components or materials, and other unauthorized repairs not explicitly allowed or warrantied by 
the manufacturer are prohibited 

 Double walled SCBs do not need to undergo tightness testing as long as they have an interstitial or annular 
space that can be continuously or periodically monitored for tightness that can be checked by the Class A, 
Class B, or Class A/B operator during monthly walk-through inspections 

 If the interstitial monitoring device in a double-walled spill containment basin, or additional testing, indicates 
a failure, but either the primary or secondary wall remains liquid-tight, the spill containment basin may be 
regulated as single-walled and must be repaired in accordance with the manufacturers recommendations, or 
replaced, within 180 days 

    Overfill Prevention (Rule 1.10(N)(2)): 
 If an overfill alarm is present, it must be fully functional and visible from all product fill locations. The audible 

alarm and indicator light must be operational and be activated when product level reaches 90% of indicated 
capacity. The associated in-tank liquid level sensors must be removed annually and checked for proper   
operation 

 If a fill tube overfill prevention device (e.g., “Flapper Valve”) is present, it must be removed annually and   
inspected to ensure it is free from obstructions and that the float moves freely. The tube length and installa-
tion depth must be verified as correct such that it completely stops fuel flow when product level reaches 95% 
of tank capacity 
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 Overfill Prevention (Rule 1.10(N)(2) continued): 
 If a ball float vent valve is present, it must be removed annually and visually inspected to ensure that it is fully 

operational, free from obstructions, damage, or missing pieces. The device length and installation depth 
must be verified as correct such that it begins to restrict flow once the product level reaches 90% of indicated 
capacity. If a flow restriction ball float vent valve is damaged or otherwise non-functional, it must be removed 

 The flow restriction ball float vent valve may not be repaired or replaced. When installing a new overfill pro-
tection device all components of the flow restriction ball float vent valve must be removed as they can inter-
fere with the proper operation of the new overfill protection device 

 
Sumps & Under-Dispenser Containment - All piping collection, tank top, and transition sumps and          
under-dispenser containment shall comply with the following requirements (Rule 1.10(N)(3)): 
 All sensors are secured in an upright position and located no more than one inch above the lowest point of 

the sump 
 All single-walled sumps and under-dispenser containment shall be tested for tightness prior to October 

13th, 2021 and a minimum of every three years thereafter using a method approved by the Director 
 If a sump or under-dispenser containment fails a tightness test, all associated tanks, piping, or dispensers 

which rely upon that component for secondary containment monitoring or spill prevention must be immedi-
ately taken out of service and temporarily closed. The impacted UST components shall not be allowed to 
return to service until the sump or under-dispenser containment has been replaced or repaired and satisfac-
torily passed an additional tightness test 

 DEM must be notified by the tester within 24 hours of any failed tightness test 
 Any repairs to sumps or under-dispenser containment must be completed in accordance with the manufac-

turers approved methods and materials or using best available technologies and materials and require prior 
approval from DEM. All materials used must demonstrate long-term compatibility with sump, under-
dispenser containment, and tank and product pipeline construction materials as well as rated for continuous 
use in the presence of gasoline, diesel, kerosene, ethanol, biodiesel, and all grades of heating fuel 

 Any repaired or replaced sumps and under-dispenser containment basins must be tested using an approved 
tightness testing method prior to being returned to service, and the facility owner must receive written per-
mission from DEM prior to placing product into the UST system and returning to service. 

Installation of Under Dispenser Containment (Rule 1.10(N)(3)(f)): 
 Under-dispenser containment must be installed if not already present during the repair or replacement of the 

dispensers, product piping, or any component used to connect the product piping to the dispenser.  
 All dispensers are required to have under-dispenser containment installed prior to 12/31/2024 

Operator Training Requirements (Rule 1.10(U)): 
New Monthly Class A/B operator inspection requirements 
 If present, the Class A or Class B operator is responsible for performing a visual inspection of all double-

walled spill containment basin, sump, and under-dispenser containment interstitial space gauge, sensor, or 
leak detection system. 

 If a UST facility is not in compliance during an operator’s monthly inspection, the deficiencies observed must 
be documented on the inspection checklist 

 The owner/operator must sign the DEM monthly inspection checklist to acknowledge the deficiencies 
 Class A or Class B operator certifications from other state (not administered by ICC) will be valid until 1 year   

after the date the certification was received by DEM 
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New and Replacement UST System Requirements (Rule 1.11) 
 All new and replacement spill containment basins are required to be double-walled and capable of periodic   

interstitial monitoring. Installation of single-walled spill containment basins is prohibited 
 The installation of flow restrictive ball float vent valves as an overfill protection method is no longer allowed, and 

flow restrictive ball float vent valves are prohibited from being replaced or repaired. Any damaged, missing, or 
inoperative ball float vent valve in a UST must be replaced with an alternative overfill protection method 

 Under Dispenser Containment (UDC) is required to be installed during the replacement/removal of a dispenser, 
repair/replacement of product piping/UST, or any repair/replacement to a component that connects a UST    
system to a dispenser 

 Loop piping systems are required to continuously monitored or be equipped with jumpers to complete a contin-
uous path back to the tank top sump. If the fueling dispenser is at a lower elevation than the tank top, it should 
be continuously monitored  

Facility Modification and Repairs (Rule 1.12) 
 Any repair which requires excavation of soil or disturbance of any subsurface UST component must receive 

prior written permission from DEM 
 An environmental consultant is required to be present for any repair on a UST system that requires excavation 

of soils. Within 30 days of the repair the environmental consultant must submit a report of their findings and 
screening results to DEM 

Leak and Spill Response (Rule 1.14)  

 All reports submitted to the Department per the requirements of this Section must be submitted in both          
hardcopy and electronic format (as specified by the Department) 

Site Investigation Report Requirements: 

 A Site Investigation may be required by DEM under the following circumstances 
 A DEM compliance inspection revealed a violation which may have indicated a release 
 Other evidence of a release exists (e.g. failed tightness tests, highly corroded tanks/piping) 
 A UST facility has been abandoned for a significant period of time 
 The party performing the Site Investigation shall submit a proposed scope of work to DEM within 30 

days, which must be approved prior to commencing any on-site work to ensure it meets the require-
ments of the project 

 The Site Investigation and Site Investigation Report, along with all associated field work, must be 
conducted by, or under a licensed Professional Engineer, Certified Professional Geologist, or Regis-
tered Professional Geologist 

 DEM may require the following upon review of a Site Investigation Report: 
 The installation and monitoring of groundwater monitoring wells sufficient to accurately characterize 

the release 
 The sampling of nearby public and private drinking water wells 
 Groundwater monitoring on a periodic schedule 

 Any other necessary information to complete the report 
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Corrective Action Plan Requirements: 

 The party performing the Corrective Action is required to submit a proposed scope of work to DEM within 30 
days, to ensure it meets the requirements of the project 

 Methods of public notification should be included in a Corrective Action Plan 

Closure (Rule 1.15) 
Temporary Closure: 
 Temporary closures are approved in 1 year increments 
 A UST can be closed for a maximum of 5 years in its lifetime 
 Applications for temporary closure must be submitted a minimum of 15 days before the anticipated date of 

temporary closure 
 The  Class A or Class B operator assigned to the UST facility must perform an inspection on UST system 

every 6 months while in temporary closure 
 Annual testing (shear valve, line leak detector, continuous monitoring system, overfill protection device) and 

interstitial tightness testing are not required while in temporary closure. Annual and tightness testing are 
required to put the USTs back into service. Cathodic protection tests should continue to be performed ac-
cording to required schedule 

 UST registration fees must be paid while in temporary closure 
 DEM must be notified within 30 days in order to put the UST back into service. The owner/operator must 

have written permission from DEM to re-open a UST system 

Transfer of Certificates of Registration and Closure (Rule 1.18): 
 DEM must be notified of any change in UST facility, UST system, or property ownership in writing within 7 

days of the transfer by submitting the “Notification of Intent to Transfer UST Registration” to DEM 
 The individual, group, or entity assuming ownership or responsibility of the UST facility, UST system, or 

property must complete and submit the DEM-provided form titled “Transfer of Ownership and UST Registra-
tion” and submit to DEM within seven days of assuming ownership or responsibility for the UST facility, UST 
system, or property 

 UST Registration fees and any applicable late fees are transferred upon sale, transfer, or change in owner-
ship of the UST system and/or facility and will become the responsibility of the new owner or responsible 
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Please note that this document is meant to be a summary of changes only, and other 
changes to the regulations may have been made that are not listed here. Please be aware 

that these changes may not apply to everyone, and will vary with the type, use, and     
contents of the UST system. We encourage you to review the entire regulation on the 
Rhode Island Secretary of State’s Page. In the event there is a disagreement between 

what is included in this summary and the text of the regulation, the regulation posted on 
the Secretary of State’s website will be considered the correct one.  


