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This form expires November 1, 2018, see RIDEM website (www.dem.ri.gov) for most recent form.

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS 

RHODE ISLAND DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT 

OFFICE OF WATER RESOURCES 

APPLICATION FOR NEW OWTS DESIGNER’S LICENSE 

CLASS I, II, III, IV 

This form is valid for license year beginning January 1, 2018. 

FOR DEM USE ONLY 
Date Received_________________   Check No.__________________    Amt. Received________________   Code  17B 

INSTRUCTIONS GENERAL INFORMATION 

1. Read all instructions and questions carefully before completing this

application. 

2. Do not write in the boxes labeled “For DEM Use Only”.

3. All information must be printed in ink or type written.

4. Fill out all sections completely, including your signature.

Include the non-refundable application fee established using the table 

below.  Fees should be paid by check or money order made payable to: 

GENERAL TREASURER, STATE OF RHODE ISLAND.  

5. Send application and fee to: 

Department of Environmental Management, Permit Application 

Center (PAC), 235 Promenade Street, Providence, RI  02908. 

6. Within 30 days of receipt of an application, the applicant shall be 

notified of their eligibility status.  If the applicant is deemed ineligible, the 

Department shall provide the applicant with reasons for the 

determination.  The applicant may appeal the Director's decision of 

ineligibility with the Administrative Adjudication Division. 

Date of Birth _______/_______ / ________ 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________ 
First  Name                                                                  MI                                                  Last Name      

_______________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Legal Residential Mailing Address 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________________________  
City                                                                                         State      __       Zip     

( _______ )_______________________    ____________________________________________________________ 
Telephone                                                    E-mail Address 

LICENSE APPLICATION FEE TABLE 

License Number of Years for Which the License will be Valid License Application Fee 

Class I 3 (2018, 2019, 2020) $150 

Class II 1 (2018) $50 

Class III 1 (2018) $50 

Class IV* 2 (2018, 2019)   $100* 

*If you are applying for a Class IV License and hold another Designer License, find the License Application Fee
associated with that license in the table above and pay the indicated fee.  The new Cl-IV license, when issued, will 
expire at the same time as the other license. 

TAXPAYER CERTIFICATION 
You are required to furnish your Social Security # or FEIN pursuant to Chapter 75 of Title 5 and Chapter 3 of Title 31 of the RI General Laws, as amended.  Any 

person applying for any license or permit to conduct a business or occupation within Rhode Island or any person renewing a motor vehicle operator’s license or 

motor vehicle registration within Rhode Island must have filed all required state tax returns and paid all taxes due the state or must have entered into a written 

installment agreement to pay delinquent state taxes that is satisfactory to the Tax Administrator.  Failure to provide the Department with your Social Security # or 

FEIN will result in you having to obtain a Letter of Good Standing from the RI Division of Taxation One Capitol Hill Providence, RI 02908 (401) 574-8941, 

Collections Division PRIOR to the issuance or renewal of your license. 

I hereby declare, under penalty of perjury, that I have filed all required state tax returns and have either paid all taxes due the state or have entered 

into a written installment agreement with the Rhode Island Division of Taxation. 

Social Security # or FEIN __________________________ 

Applicant’s Signature _______________________________________________________________________  Date ___________________ 

Printed Name _____________________________________________________________________________ 

If necessary, please submit Letter of Good Standing or Installment Agreement along with this completed license application as directed above in the Instructions 

section of this application form. 

http://www.dem.ri.gov/
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EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION 

Contact information for OWTS permitting and licensing and for the designer listing on the RIDEM website.  

Business Name (optional): _______________________________________________________________________________  

Address:      __________________________________________________________________________________________ 

                                  __________________________________________________________________________________________ 

    __________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Telephone:  ______________________________ Email*:  _____________________________________________________ 
 * Email addresses are not posted to website; they are used only for communication between DEM and the licensee. 

 
LICENSE 

Indicate license for which you are applying    Class I          Class II         Class III        Class IV    
 

License(s) currently held: (Check appropriate title(s)) 
 

  RI PLS Registration #___________________ 

 

  RI PE Registration #___________________ 

 RIDEM OWTS Installer License #________________

 RIDEM Class I Designer License #________________ 

 RIDEM Class II Designer License #________________ 

 RIDEM Class III Designer License #________________ 

 RIDEM Class IV Soil Evaluator License #________________ 

Are any of the licenses checked above currently expired, suspended, or revoked?  Yes       No   

Have you ever possessed a professional license, which is a minimum requirement to obtain a RIDEM designer’s license, which 

was revoked, suspended or which has expired? Yes      No   

If yes, what type of license _______________________________________________________.   

If yes, please give date of revocation, suspension or expiration __________________________. 

AFFIDAVIT 

I, the undersigned Applicant, hereby declare under the penalty of perjury that all statements made on this application and in 
support thereof are true and complete to the best of my knowledge and belief; that this application is made in compliance with the 
laws, rules, and regulations of the State of Rhode Island.  

Signature of Applicant_____________________________________________________________ Date________________ 

Subscribed and sworn to before me this______________ day of ______________________________________, 20_________. 

Signature of Notary_____________________________________________  My Commission expires_________, 20_________. 
 

(SEAL) 

 

FOR DEM USE ONLY 

License Status 
Approved 

Denied 



LICENSE NUMBER: ______________________ 

Comments: ___________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

Signature of Authorized Agent: _____________________________________________________Date: ___________________










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