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2015	WASTEWATER	OPERATOR	RENEWAL 
 

Downloadable Version 
 
 
It’s that time again. Per Chapter 42-17.4 of the Rhode Island General Laws, as amended, and the 
Rhode Island Rules and Regulations for Wastewater Treatment Facility Operators, please be aware that your 
wastewater operator license will expire at midnight on December 31, 2015.  
 
YOU HAVE TWO OPTIONS TO RENEW:  Follow the instructions on the back by signing 
only Acknowledgement #1 to renew your license with a standard renewal. Or if you have attained 
twenty hours of approved training, you may also sign Acknowledgement #2 (in addition to 
Acknowledge #1) for a “Tier Two” renewal.  
 
Either way, payment of the $10 renewal fee and this completed renewal form must be 
received to DEM (not postmarked) by 4:00 p.m. on December 31, 2015. 
 
For your information, please also note the following: 
 
 Failure to renew by December 31st, 2015 for the coming two-year renewal period will result in 

the assessment of late fees of up to $50 or the possible expiration of your license. Should your 
license expire, re-certification will be through examination only; please note that only operators 
employed at a wastewater treatment facility in Rhode Island can sit for examination.   

 
 As such the Board urges you to renew your license now, even if you are no longer in the field. 
 
 Per the above statutory and regulatory requirements, all operators of wastewater treatment 

facilities in Rhode Island must maintain licensure in order to remain employed at a wastewater 
treatment facility in Rhode Island. Failure to renew may result in the Board requiring your 
removal from an operation’s position if you are currently so employed. 

 
 You need not be living in Rhode Island or working at a Rhode Island wastewater treatment 

facility to renew your license. All current license holders may renew.   
 
 If you do not wish to renew your license please contact Traci Pena at (401) 222-4700, 

extension 2410, or via email at Traci.Pena@dem.ri.gov, so we can stop sending you renewal 
information. 

 
Questions? As always, feel free contact Traci or Bill Patenaude. Bill can be reached at (401) 222-
4700, extension 7264, or at Bill.Ptenaude@dem.ri.gov.  
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DOWNLOADABLE VERSION INSTRUCTIONS: 
 
1. PRINT YOUR NAME AND LICENSE NUMBER IN THE SPACE PROVIDED BELOW  
2. READ ACKNOWLEDGEMENT #1  
3. ALL LICENSEES MUST SIGN AND DATE ACKNOWLDGEMENT #1. (LICENSEES WITH 

TWENTY HOURS OF TRAINING MAY ALSO SIGN AND DATE ACKNOWLEDGEMENT #2) 
4. ENCLOSE A $10 CHECK OR MONEY ORDER MADE OUT TO: 

TREASURER, STATE OF RHODE ISLAND 
(DO NOT SEND CASH THROUGH THE MAIL) 

5. MAIL THIS COMPLETED FORM AND THE $10 FEE TO THIS ADDRESS: 
DEM – PERMIT APPLICATION CENTER 
235 PROMENADE ST., PROVIDENCE, RI 02908 

6. LATE FEES OF UP TO $50 WILL BE ASSESSED AND LICENSES MAY EXPIRE IF DEM 
RECEIVES THIS FORM AND $10 FEE AFTER DECEMBER 31, 2015. 

 

 PRINT YOUR FULL NAME AND LICENSE NUMBER HERE:  _____________________________________________________ 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 
  
 
 
 

ACKNOWLEDGEMENT #1 (MANDATORY) 
 
I, the undersigned, do hereby acknowledge that I am the license holder in question and that as a condition of 
licensure, per the Rules and Regulations of Operators of Wastewater Treatment Facilities, it is my responsibility to 
notify the Board regarding any change in my home address, otherwise I may forfeit licensure in subsequent 
renewal periods if the Board cannot locate me for renewal.  I also acknowledge that I am aware that this 2015 
renewal will expire at midnight on December 31, 2017, and that it is my responsibility to secure renewal 
information and then proceed to renew my wastewater operator license by that date, otherwise I will be 
assessed late fees and possibly have my license expire. 
 
 
_______________________________________________________________________________________________ 

SIGNATURE              DATE 

ACKNOWLEDGEMENT #2 (OPTIONAL) 
 
I, the undersigned, voluntarily seek Tier Two licensure renewal of my grade of license. I have taken a 
minimum of twenty hours of approved training related to wastewater operations between January 1, 2014 
and present. As proof, I have attached evidence/copies of training completion forms, etc. 
 
 

      
_______________________________________________________________________________________________ 

SIGNATURE              DATE 
 


