

DON'T DUMP IT, PUMP IT!

# MANAGING BOAT WASTE

## **IN RHODE ISLAND'S NO DISCHARGE AREA**

Rhode Island is a beautiful place, and one of the best ways to enjoy our state is to spend time on, or in, the water – boating and fishing in Narragansett Bay and our coastal waters, and swimming at our magnificent beaches.

Clean water makes these recreational activities more enjoyable and healthy. Protecting water quality means guarding against pollution. One source of pollution is boat sewage discharges. No one wants to swim where there is sewage from boats, or eat contaminated shellfish, or sail through polluted waters. Properly managing boat sewage is something every boater can do – in fact, must do – to help protect the quality and health of Rhode Island's waters.

Since the 1970s, when the federal Clean Water Act was enacted, it has been illegal to discharge untreated boat sewage into inland, fresh waters, as well as the coastal waters of the United States. In 1998, Rhode Island took a bold step toward further protecting our marine waters by designating all of the state's coastal waters as a No Discharge Area. As result, the discharge of all boat sewage – treated and untreated – is prohibited in all of Rhode Island's inland, freshwaters, as well as the state's marine waters which extend seaward 3 miles from the shoreline and include all of Narragansett Bay.







DEM.RI.GOV/NODISCHARGE







DON'T DUMP IT, PUMP IT!

### **MANAGING BOAT WASTE** IN RHODE ISLAND'S NO DISCHARGE AREA

#### HOW TO COMPLY WITH THE LAW

Never discharge sewage in Rhode Island waters!

However, discharge of greywater, a type of wastewater commonly from sinks, is permitted.

• Ensure that you have a proper marine toilet

Recreational boats are not required to be equipped with a toilet, but if they are so equipped, the toilet must be a Coast Guard approved Marine Sanitation Device (MSD), either designed to hold sewage for shore-based disposal, or to treat sewage prior to disposal. There are 3 types of MSDs.

- Type I MSDs treat sewage by chemical means, e.g., maceration and chlorination.
- Type II MSDs treat sewage by biological means, e.g., bacteria.
- Type III MSDs have holding tanks, and are the most common type of MSD. They are designed to store sewage until it can be removed at a pumpout facility, and some also have the option to dischage overboard outside state waters (beyond 3 miles from shore which also extend out from the shores of Block Island).

Vessels up to 65 feet in length may have any type of MSD. Vessels over 65 feet in length must have a Type II or Type III MSD.

Portable toilets or "porta-potties" are not considered installed toilets and are not subject to the MSD regulations. They are fine to use, and are appropriate on small boats, as long as they are not dumped overboard. If no other option is available a bucket with secure lid is an alternative, provided it is not dumped overboard.

Only Type III MSDs and portable toilets can be used in Rhode Island waters. (Type I and Type II MSDs must be deactivated because they may result in discharge of sewage to surface waters; see below.)

When operating or moored in Rhode Island waters (or any other No Discharge Area), MSDs must be properly secured or configured to prevent discharges at all times.

Type I and Type II MSDs must be secured to prevent use. Closing the seacock and either padlocking it or affixing a non-releasable wire tie, or removing the seacock handle (with the seacock closed) are sufficient. Locking the door to the toilet is another acceptable method.







**DEM.RI.GOV/NODISCHARGE** 

Type III MSDs must be configured to ensure that all waste goes into the holding tank, and none goes overboard. If your boat has no ability to discharge (i.e., no through-hull fitting), there's nothing to worry about. However, if your boat has a through-hull fitting, allowing waste to be discharged overboard, the valve directing the flow of the waste must be pointed toward the holding tank and secured in place - by removing the handle, padlocking it, or affixing a non-releasable wire tie.

#### Ensure that your boat is inspected

The RI No-Discharge Compliance Program, enacted as a state law in 2006, requires all boats with permanently installed marine toilets to be inspected and certified as being compliant with RI's No-Discharge Law. Once inspected, vessels are issued a decal, which must be displayed in a prominent position on the vessel. Decals remain valid for four years, after which the vessel must be re-inspected. The only exemptions to this mandatory inspection requirement are: boats with a portable toilet, or no toilet; boats subject to mandatory US Coast Guard inspection; and transient boats that are operated or moored in RI waters for less than 30 days. (These exemptions only apply to the inspection/decal requirement. No boat, of any type, is exempt from the No-Discharge Law.)

To find a list of all authorized No-Discharge Certification Agents (Inspectors), visit dem.ri.gov/nodischarge.

#### Use a pumpout facility



Boats equipped with a holding tank (Type III MSD) or portable toilet may use any of the numerous pumpout facilities located throughout RI. To find the closest pumpout facility, visit dem.ri.gov/nodischarge.

#### RAMIFICATIONS OF NOT COMPLYING WITH THE LAW

In addition to impairing the quality of the waters that boaters use and enjoy;

The owner/operator of any vessel that discharges any sewage, treated or untreated, into RI waters, or fails to have a proper MSD, or fails to have the MSD properly secured, is subject to a fine of \$500 (first offense) to up to \$1,000 (subsequent offenses) and/or imprisonment.

The owner/operator of any vessel, subject to the No Discharge Compliance Program, that has not been inspected and has no decal, or has an expired decal, is subject to a fine up to \$100.

#### FOR MORE INFORMATION

Call the Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management at 401-222-4700 or visit dem.ri.gov/nodischarge. Or contact your local marina or yacht club.