ranged from large petroleum carriers, automobile carriers, and cruise ships to tugs and tows.
Details are as follows:

Rhode Island State Pilotage Commission

2009 Highlights

In accordance with Title 46, Chapter 9, Section 6 of Rhode Island General Laws the following
report is submitted. During the calendar year ending December 31, 2009 the commission met as
scheduled and oversaw the pilotage of 831 ships through the waters of Rhode Island. The ships

VESSEL MOVEMENTS IN NARRAGANSETT BAY 2009

LOCATION JAN | FEB | MAR | APR | MAY | JUN | JUL | AUG | SEP | OCT | NOV | DEC | TOTAL

E PASSAGE 39| 44 46 46 50| 47| 46 53| 48| 45 48 | 54 566

MT HOPE BAY 12 | 13 20 9 18 19| 13 8| 11 10 12 9 154

JAMESTOWN 2 2 5 2 2 0 6 6 2 4 4 4 39

NEWPORT 6| 12 10| 12 28 4 0 72
TOTAL 53| 59 71 57 70| 72| 77 77 | 73 87 68 | 67 831

The following is a list of the State’s share of pilotage fees collected by the Pilots from registered
vessels in accordance with Commission regulations. A detailed listing of all vessels piloted and
the individual fees paid is available from the Commission.

Jan
Feb
Mar
Apr
May
Jun
Jul
Aug
Sep
Oct
Nov
Dec

$17,948.09
$11,584.38
$14,454.64
$15,996.83
$13,818.69
$14,515.35
$13,103.43
$15,360.74
$18,510.42
$17,863.12
$20,704.88
$15,428.03

Totals $189,288.60

Fees collected from RI Licensed Pilots are deposited into the State’s general revenue account.
Funding for the operation of the Pilotage Commission is charged to the Department of

Environmental Management and is administered by the Division of Coastal Resources. Legal

and clerical support is provided on a non-reimbursable basis by the Department of
Environmental Management, Division of Law Enforcement and the Office of Legal Services.

2009 expenditures were less than $1,000. Also, it should be noted that public members of the

Commission have waived all compensation.




