FROM WOODS TO WATER,

FIND YOUR NEXT ADVENTURE

WITH YOUR

RHODE ISLAND HUNTING & FISHING LIGENSE

DEM is proud to offer convenient access to
hunting and fishing licenses in-person at sales
agents across the state or directly through our
expanded online system. It's now easier than
ever to purchase Rhode Island hunting and
fishing licenses, permits, tags and stamps, so
you can get outdoors and enjoy the many
recreational opportunities made possible
through conservation and management of
Rhode Island’s natural resources.

DEM.ri.gov/huntfish is your entry point to help
plan your next adventure and make the most
of Rhode Island’s great outdoors. There you
can find maps of hunting areas and fishing
access points, answers to frequently asked
questions, and morel!
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HOW CAN | PURCHASE RHODE ISLAND
HUNTING AND FISHING LICENSES?

Both resident and non-resident Licenses, permits and stamps

may be purchased online at www.dem.ri.gov/huntfish, in person at
DEM'’s Boating Licensing & Registration Office in Providence, or
at an authorized sales agent which includes some municipalities.
Please check the www.dem.ri.gov/huntfish website for a current list
of authorized sales agents.

CAN | REPORT MY DEER OR TURKEY HARVEST ONLINE?
Yes! Log on to the online system to report your harvests. Deer
harvests must be reported online within 24 hours; except during
the first 4 days of the muzzleloader deer season when they must
be physically checked at a state operated check-station. Fall and
spring turkey hunters must report their harvest online by midnight
on the day of the harvest.

WHAT IS A RIHFID?

Rhode Island’s outdoor licensing system issues a Rhode Island
Hunting and Fishing Identification (RIHFID) number to every angler
and hunter. Your RIHFID, pronounced RYE-FID, is unique to you
and can be used to quickly access the system in the future so you
can update your online profile, reprint lost or damaged licenses
and permits, add additional permits, or renew licenses.

WHAT DOCUMENTS DO | NEED TO
PURCHASE A FISHING OR HUNTING LICENSE?

You will need a driver’s license, government issued identification
card, military identification, green card or passport number to verify
your identity. If you are under 18, you may apply using your parent
or guardian’s identification. Once you turn 18, you will need your
own identification.

If you are applying for a hunting license or archery permit, you will
need your hunter safety certificate number or a previous hunting
license from Rhode Island or another state. Please refer to Hunter
Education FAQ'’s for more information at DEM.ri.gov/huntfish

WHAT WILL MY LICENSE LOOK LIKE?

Your license will print on an 8.5” x 11” piece of paper. Every
completed transaction produces a printable document which lists
all active licenses and permits. Whether you purchased them
online or at a vendor, your system profile will update every time
you add a new license, permit, tag and/or stamp.

If you damage or lose your license, simply log into the system
using your email or RIHFID number and reprint when you need to.
There is no cost for reprinting damaged or lost licenses.
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WHAT DO | SHOW ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS
IFI'M ASKED FOR MY LICENSE?

Rhode Island State law requires you to carry your signed license
document with you. Check the DEM website or the annual Rhode
Island regulation abstracts for the full hunting and fishing rules,
seasons, and bag limits.

| QUALIFY FOR A NO-COST LICENSE.
HOW DOES THE ONLINE SYSTEM AFFECT ME?

No-cost licenses are available if you are over 65 (Rhode Island
resident only) or 100% totally disabled. Additionally, individuals
who are active military qualify for a no-cost saltwater fishing
license, and anyone with 100% disabled status are exempt from
needing a recreational saltwater fishing license.

If you qualify for a no cost license, you may purchase your license
in person at DEM, by mail or through the online system. In all
cases, you must hold a current document from the federal agency
that issued the disability decision. Please visit DEM.ri.gov/huntfish
for more information and documentation required.

If you already hold a no cost permanent hunting or fishing license
and would like to buy additional permits or privileges or receive
information about additional hunting or fishing opportunities, you
must enter your information in the new system. The system will issue
a new permanent license along with your RIHFID. You will then be
able to access the online system to buy future permits or privileges.

IS THERE AN ADDED FEE IF | PURCHASE MY LICENSES
AND PERMITS ONLINE?

No, there are no added fees if a license or permit is purchased
online. The fees, by law, already include an “agent commission”
that goes towards system development, operation, support and
maintenance.

IS THERE AN ADDED FEE WHEN | PURCHASE AT AN
AGENT LOCATION OR A MUNICIPALITY?

Yes, there are Enhance Access Fees (EAF) as follows:
« Resident: $2 per license and $0.50 permit
* Non-resident: $3 per license and $1 permit
* No EAF for Recreational Saltwater Fishing Licenses or
No Cost Licenses

Enhanced Access Fees offset the administrative costs to bill, track
and account for the transactions from sales agent locations and
for system development, operation, support and maintenance. The
agent commission, which is included in the license or permit fee,
goes to the sales agent to offset their costs for processing and
printing your license at their location.

IS THERE AN ADDED FEE IF | PURCHASE AT DEM?

There is no additional fee if you pay with cash or a personal check.
If you use a credit or debit card to pay for your license, there is a
credit card processing fee.

WHAT PAYMENT TYPE DOES THE ONLINE SYSTEM ACCEPT?

The online system accepts Visa, MasterCard, American Express
and Discover. Rhode Island Interactive who provides this service
is fully secure and a PCI/DSS certified payment provider. Payment
types accepted at sales agents may vary by location.




