
 
Becoming a Nuisance Wildlife Control Specialist 

 in Rhode Island 
 
 

 In 2006, the Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management adopted 
new regulations pertaining to the nuisance wildlife control industry. These regulations 
were enacted following a public hearing and comment period in accordance with the 
requirements of the Administrative Procedures Act, Chapter 42-35 of Rhode Island 
General Laws.  

In Rhode Island, no person may engage in the business of providing wildlife 
control services, whether charging a fee or not, on the property of another person without 
first obtaining a Nuisance Wildlife Control Specialist (NWCS) permit from the DEM’s 
Division of Fish and Wildlife (DFW). Wildlife control services are defined as: “to harass, 
repel, evict, exclude, capture, posses, transport, liberate, destroy; or attempt to harass, 
repel, evict, exclude, capture, posses, transport, liberate, destroy a problem wild animal. 
This is to include the disturbance, removal, or destruction of nests, dens, lodges, or 
burrows.”  

Anyone wishing to obtain a nuisance wildlife control specialists permit must meet 
all of the following requirements:  

 
a) He or she has submitted a complete application form as provided by the DEM; 

 b) Are 18 years of age or older;  
c) Have successfully completed a written examination administered by the  

     DEM;  
d) Possess a current Rhode Island trapping license; and;  
e) Have not been convicted of a wildlife-related violation within one year                 

     prior to submitting their application.  
 
Prior to receiving a permit, all applicants must successfully complete a written 

examination administered by the DFW based on laws and regulations, wildlife diseases, 
humane capture and handling of wildlife and other relevant topics. Exam questions are 
based primarily on the Rhode Island Nuisance Wildlife Control Specialist Handbook. 
Handbooks cost $7.50 if picked up or $11.00 if mailed and are available at RI DEM’s 
Fish and Wildlife offices at the Great Swamp Field Headquarters in West Kingston (401-
789-0281).  

Checks should be made payable to: RI DEM-Division of Fish and Wildlife. We 
are not prepared to accept cash or credit card payments. For permit applications, 
scheduling an examination time, or more information you may contact the Division of 
Fish and Wildlife at (401) 789-0281. 

 
 
         
 


