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On behalf of Governor Gina Raimondo, I am excited to
release the seventh annual Rhode Island Hunting and
Trapping Regulation Guide for Rhode Islanders and vis-
itors who enjoy wildlife and the great outdoors. We hope
its information about the ins and outs of harvesting game
animals will help novice and seasoned hunters alike.
Rhode Island is home to a myriad of natural habitats.
From coastal shrublands to forestland to grasslands that
sway in the breeze, opportunities for hunting and trap-
ping abound. Investing in land and wildlife conservation
remains an important focus of the Department of Envi-
ronmental Management (DEM). Through contributions
from Rhode Island hunters, we’ve protected nearly 600
acres in the last seven years to enhance opportunities for
hunting and trapping, bringing the total purchased to date with your support to more than
16,000 acres. This adds significantly to the 55,000 acres already managed by our Division
of Fish and Wildlife. Among the new public lands open to hunting is the 43-acre Warren
property that has been incorporated into the state’s Burlingame Management Area.

Hunting has a long tradition in Rhode Island, supporting family customs, connecting
people with nature, and attracting tourism to the state. According to the US Fish and
Wildlife Service, consumer spending on hunting expands the state economy by $18 mil-
lion annually. Spending on wildlife watching contributes another $200 million. With our
new electronic registration system, residents and non-resident customers are now able
to purchase hunting licenses, permits, and tags and report their harvests online. Visit
https://www.ri.gov/DEM/huntfish to learn more!

I hope this guide, funded through your contributions to the Federal Aid in Wildlife
Restoration Act (Pittman-Robertson Act), enhances your hunting experiences, while en-
couraging you to be respectful of the environment and fellow hunters. Enjoy the excitement
of the outdoors in beautiful Rhode Island and the tranquility and connection to nature
that hunting brings. And thank you for being part of conservation efforts that will provide

benefits for generations to come!

i B

Janet Coit
Director

Hunting Abstract

This hunting abstract is a sum-
mary of the rules, regulations,
seasons and bag limits for the
2020-2021 Rhode Island hunting
and trapping seasons. For more
detailed information, see the
General Laws of Rhode Island,

obtainable at most public libraries.

A complete copy of the Hunting
and Trapping Regulations for the
2020-2021 Season can be viewed
online at: http://www.dem.ri.gov/
documents/regulations/index.
php#hunting-fishing

Copies are also available by
contacting the Division of Fish
and Wildlife.

Report Game Violations

RIDEM Environmental Police
Officers have broad responsibili-
ties associated with the statewide
enforcement of various state
environmental laws and regula-
tions, including those associated
with hunting, freshwater fishing,
and marine fisheries. Officers are
always present and on guard to
protect these valuable natural
resources for all of our citizens.

You can assist them by reporting
wildlife violations to the 24 hour
hotline at DEM.

Turn In Poachers! - 401-222-3070
- 24 Hours/7 days week
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LE GRIFFIN

PUBLISHING

Williamstown, MA | Birmingham, AL

About This Guide

This high-quality guide is offered to you
by the Rhode Island Division of Fish and
Wildlife through its unique partnership
with J.F. Griffin Publishing, LLC.

The revenue generated through ad sales
significantly lowers production costs and
generates savings. These savings translate
into additional funds for other important
agency programs.

If you have any feedback or are inter-
ested in advertising, please contact us at
413.884.1001 or at www.JFGriffin.com

Graphic Design:

Jon Gulley, Dane Fay, John Corey,
Evelyn Haddad, Chris Sobolowski

This guide is also
available online at

Regulations.com

2020-2021 Rhode Island Hunting & Trapping Guide
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Our Mission

Our mission is to ensure that the Freshwater,
Marine, and Wildlife resources of the State of
Rhode Island will be conserved and managed
for equitable and sustainable use.

Significant Regulation
Changes & Highlights
2020-2021

1. Scaup has been split into two seasons.

» October 9 - 12, November 25 - 29, Decem-
ber 5 - January 4, 2021 with a daily bag
limit of 1.

» January 5 - 24, 2021 with a daily bag limit
of 2.

2. The season for brant has been extended to

fifty (50) days.

3. The fisher season limit has been reduced to
two (2).

4. A season and daily bag limit have been
established for red squirrel.

5. Licensing, game bird importation, and other
criteria applicable to shooting preserves and
hunting clubs have been revised and clarified.

6. The fall archery turkey season has been
extended to October 31.

7. Successful completion of a bow hunter ed-
ucation course is required for anyone using
archery equipment to hunt any species for
which archery is a permitted method of take.

8. Seasons and bag limits have been estab-
lished for green frog, bullfrog, and snapping
turtles. Harvesting snapping turtles for
commercial purposes is prohibited.

9. Non-toxic shot is required per Federal regu-
lation for all dove, duck (including coot and

Chief’s Message:

Welcome to the hunting and fishing abstract
for the State of Rhode Island. You will find all
the necessary information within this and a
list of resources, locations and programs that
are offered. Rhode Island, while small, has

a great deal to offer for outdoor enthusiasts.
Whitetail deer, waterfowl, small game and
upland game hunting, along with a tremen-
dous trout stocking program for our freshwa-
ter bodies of water. Saltwater anglers can fish
the many miles of shoreline, take a charter
boat or use recreational boating to access
some of the best fishing on the east coast.

The Division of Fish and Wildlife offer
hunter education courses, operate a state-of-
the-art shooting range at the Great Swamp
and provide many other programs for you
to learn from and explore. All of the pro-

merganser), and goose hunting in Field 1 at
South Shore Management Area.

Definitions

Antlerless deer - deer having no antlers or
antlers less than three (3) inches in length.

Archery Proficiency testing - the measurable
demonstration of skills with archery equipment
using a set of standards as determined by the
hunter education program.

Bearded turkey - a wild turkey that carries a
visible beard, i.e., a tuft of stiff filament-like
feathers projecting outward and downward
from the center of the chest.

Conibear-type trap - “conibear” model traps
and similar body-gripping traps and devices.

Daily bag limit - the maximum number of
game of a single species or combination (aggre-
gate) of species permitted to be taken by one
person in any one day during the open season.

Driving deer/cooperative drive - to pursue,
drive, chase, or otherwise frighten or cause a
deer to move in a direction toward a person or
persons known to be waiting for deer.

Field possession limit - the maximum number
of game of a single species or combination of
species permitted to be possessed by one person
while in the field, in one’s vehicle, boat, trailer or
other means of transportation when traveling
between the field and one’s personal abode. This
shall be equal to the daily bag or season limit.

Junior Hunter - any person 12-14 years of age
who possesses a hunter safety education certif-
icate. Junior hunters may only hunt in the im-
mediate company of an adult, 21 years of age or
older who possesses a current RI hunting license.

Personal abode - one’s principal or ordinary
home or dwelling place, as distinguished from
one’s temporary or transient place of abode or

gramming is provided to ensure that those
hunting and fishing in our state, do so in an
ethical manner with the greatest regard for
the outdoor environment and the wildlife
inhabitants. Fish and Wildlife have a highly
educated and dedicated staff that work to
provide wildlife habitat, game management
and trout and salmon stocking programs to
benefit the outdoorsmen.

The Environmental Police work together
with all divisions of the department, to pro-
vide resource protection through conserva-
tion law enforcement. Our officers are highly
educated and trained to provide a diverse and
thorough background in natural resources.
Officers are responsible for all state lands, pri-
vate lands for hunting and fishing oversight,
as well as the marine environment. Hunting,
fishing and boating safety and enforcement
are the primary functions of the division.

General INFORMATION

dwelling such as a hunting club, or any club
house, cabin, tent or trailer house used as a hunt-
ing club, or any hotel, motel or rooming house
used during a hunting, pleasure or business trip.

Possess or Possession - to exercise dominion
or control over any wild animal commencing
at the time at which a decision is made not to
return the wild animal to the immediate vicin-
ity from which it was taken and lasting up until
its ultimate disposition. The decision to possess
or return the animal must be made at the first
practical opportunity.

Season bag limit - the maximum number of
game of a single species permitted to be taken by
one person over the duration of the open season.

Tidal Waters - waters of the State extending
from mean high water to the seaward limit of
three (3) miles.

Officers are provided with a tremendous
assortment of tools to insure the protection of
our natural resources for future generations.

In these unprecedented times, the out-
doors provides a much-needed relief for all.
Protecting the beauty of Rhode Island is the
responsibility of all that endeavor outside, ex-
plore the woods and waters of our state and
enjoy the assortment of wildlife that we offer.
As Chief, I welcome you to Rhode Island and
ask that everyone do their part to protect the
natural resources of this small but incredibly
diverse state. Go out and explore, enjoy and
take in all that Rhode Island has to offer.

Sincerely,
Dean Hoxsie, Chief

RI Environmental Police
(401-222-3070)



General INFORMATION

. . Fee Fee (at

Resident Hunting License

(must be 15 years old)’ 31800  320.00
Resident Combination License

(Hunting & Fishing) >33.00  535.00
Resident Junior Hunting License

(12-14 years old) $18.00  $20.00
Permanent Resident Combination License Nofee* No Fee
(over 65 or disabled)

Resident Trapping License $10.00 $12.00
Resident Fur Buyer License $10.00  $12.00
Non-Resident Hunting License

(must be 15 years old)' RO ] ey
Non-Resident Tourist Hunting License

(3-day) $16.00  $19.00
Non-Resident Junior Hunting License

(12-14 years old) $45.00  $48.00
Non-Be5|dent.T_rappmg License $30.00  $33.00
(if reciprocal privileges allowed)

Non-Resident Fur Buyer License $30.00  $33.00
Active Military Personnel Hunting License ~ $18.00  $20.00
Resident All Outdoors Package Permit® $75.00  $78.00
Resident Deer Permit? $12.50  $13.00
Non-Resident Deer Permit 2 $25.50  $26.50
Resident Turkey Permit $7.50 $8.00

Non-Resident Turkey Permit $20.00  $21.00
Rl Game Bird Permit $15.50  $16.00*
State Waterfowl Stamp $7.50 $8.00*
Migratory Bird (H.I1.P) Permit Nofee NoFee

1 Junior hunters must hunt in the immediate company of an adult,
21 years of age or older, holding a valid Rl hunting license.

2 Deer permits are season, sex and zone specific.

3 Anyresident 65 years or older or with a permanent disability may
obtain a free permanent license through the online system, at any li-
cense vendor, or at the DEM Office of Boat Registration and Licensing.

4 Non-Residents pay a $1.00 Enhanced access fee ($16.50 Gamebird
Permit and $8.50 State Waterfowl Stamp).

5 The AllOutdoors Deer Permit Package consists of two (2) antlered
deer permits and five (5) antlerless deer permits that may be used in
any combination during the open deer seasons in Zones 1 and 2 in
accordance with the zone bag limits.

Licenses & Permits

No person shall hunt, pursue, take or kill any wild bird or animal in the
state without first having obtained a Rhode Island hunting license (RIGL
20-13-1). Hunters must have a signed paper copy of their license and
permits in possession, on their person, at all times and shall present it
for inspection on demand by any authorized person. Failure to present a
license shall make a person liable to the same penalties as if he or she was
hunting without a license (RIGL 20-2-9). Licensed hunters and trappers
are subject to inspection of any boat, vehicle, game bag, blind, stand, or
other paraphernalia used in conjunction with licensed activity (RIGL

20-2-32). Licenses may be suspended or revoked because of violations of
hunting rules and regulations (RIGL 20-2-13).

The possession of a valid Rhode Island hunting, or combination
hunting and fishing license, shall serve as a permit to hunt State Manage-
ment Areas (RIGL 20-18-2 and 20-18-3), except when check stations are
in operation or when special permits are required for deer, waterfowl, or
turkey hunting on state lands.

This permit shall be valid only from the first day of season to the last
day in February. The carrying of firearms on state management areas at
any other time is prohibited.

Hunting Licenses are available from online at www.dem.ri.gov/hunt-
fish, DEM Office of Boating Registration and Licenses at 235 Promenade
St., Providence, RI 02908 (401) 222-3576; most city and town clerks; and
most sporting goods stores. Reprints of lost or damaged licenses are free
through the online system. Purchases made at a full service vendor carry
an Enhanced Access Fee (EAF) to offset the cost of administering the
licensing system. The enhanced access fees are as follows:

« Resident: $2 per license and $0.50 per permit
» Non-Resident: $3 per license and $1.00 per permit

o No EAF for Recreational Saltwater Fishing or No Cost Licenses
and permits.

Migratory Bird Harvest Information Program (HIP)

All migratory bird hunters are required to obtain a HIP certification and
answer a short survey. HIP permits are available free of charge through
the online system, at license vendors, DEM Providence headquarters
and the DEM Great Swamp Field Office. The HIP program provides state
agencies and U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service agencies with better data that
improves their ability to manage our nation’s migratory bird resources.

Hunter Safety Course
Requirements & Licensing

Persons applying for a hunting license or archery permit for the first time
or not having been a member of the armed forces must complete a course
in safe hunting or archery practices and have been issued a Hunter Ed-
ucation Certificate to obtain a license. License applicants must present a
valid hunter safety certificate from Rhode Island or other state, or possess
a previous hunting license from RI or other state, or present proof of cur-
rent or honorably discharged military status. Applicants for an archery
deer permit or fall archery turkey permit must provide proof of successful
completion of an Archery Safety Education course. A list of hunter safety
classes, dates, and locations is available from the Hunter Safety Office:
(401) 539-0019 or on the web: http://www.dem.ri.gov/huntereducation.
An online hunter education course is available at https://www.hunter-ed.
com/rhodeisland/ and an online bow hunter education course is available at
https://www.bowhunter-ed.com/rhodeisland/.

Prohibited Activities

» No loaded rifles or shotguns in or on vehicles (RIGL 20-13-8).

« No shooting at, hunting, or pursuing game along, upon, or across a
public highway (RIGL 20-13-9).

Morning Doves, Crows,

Hunting Licenses Turke Pheasant Small Game (Coyote¥*, Fox, i
and Permits Y| &Quail Squirrel, Rabbit, and Raccoon) | Woodcock, Snipe and Rails

Hunting License .

Deer Permit .

Turkey Permit .

Game Bird Permit .
HIP Permit

Federal Duck Stamp

State Duck Stamp

* Deer permit needed during archery deer season
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o Itisaviolation of law, punishable by a fine and imprisonment, to fire
“into” land for which one does not have landowner permission.

» No hunting on posted land without landowner permission or state
parks, with the exception of undeveloped state parks as denoted in the
regulations, removing or defacing posters thereon, or doing willful
damage to property (RIGL 11-44-4,5).

« No more than five (5) persons to hunt in unison (RIGL 20-13-11).

o Target or trap shooting on state lands is only allowed on provided
ranges (RIGL 32-2-4).

« No hunting while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs
(RIGL 20-13-10).

« Spotlighting for wild animals and birds is prohibited (statewide and is-
lands) from September 15 through the last day of February (RIHR 9.7.2.F).

« Shooting at any animal at anytime while such animal is on a telephone or
electric line, pole, or tower or any communication device (RTHR 9.17.H).

« The importation, exportation, possession, liberation, or sale of any
mute swan and/or eggs thereof, or live pen-reared or hybrid wild
turkey and/or eggs thereof (RIHR 9.17.B).

o Importing of live birds or animals without permit (RIGL 20-17-9).

« Taking of birds by any method other than shotgun, bow and arrow, or
falconry without permit (RIGL 20-14-7).

« The sale of game, except as provided (RIGL 20-13-14).

o Feeding and baiting wildlife in the state of Rhode Island is not per-
mitted at any time for any purposes except as defined (RIHR 9.17.]).

Discharge and Firearm Restrictions

o Itisunlawful to carry aloaded firearm or archery equipment outside
legal shooting hours. Provided the hunter is stationary, his / her fire-
arm or archery equipment may be loaded within fifteen (15) minutes
prior to legal shooting hours (RIHR 9.17.1).

« The use or possession of laser sights that project a beam or night-vi-
sion equipment while hunting is prohibited (RIHR 9.7.2.G).

« No lead shot larger than No. 2 at any time (RIGL 20-13-13).

» Norifles larger than .22 caliber rimfire at any time; however, from
Apr. 1 to Sept. 30, (both dates inclusive), centerfire rifles no larger
than .229 caliber may be used during daylight hours (RIGL 20-13-13).

 Discharge of a firearm within 500 feet of an occupied dwelling with-
out written permission is prohibited (RIGL 20-13-7, RIGL 20-15-1).

 Archery hunting, within 200 feet of an occupied dwelling without
written permission is prohibited (RIGL 20-15-1).

Important Laws & Regulations
Pertaining to Wildlife

The Lacey Act of 1900, the first federal game law, regulates interstate and
international commerce in wildlife. The term “wildlife”, for the pur-
poses of the act, means any wild animal, wild bird, amphibian, reptile,
mollusk, or crustacean, or their dead bodies, parts, eggs, or offspring,
but does not include migratory birds for which protection is afforded
under the Migratory Bird Treaty Act. Briefly, action can be taken against
anyone who transports, ships, or sells wildlife in interstate or foreign
commerce contrary to state or foreign laws, or transports any package
not properly labeled or tagged.

The Migratory Bird Treaty Act is an international agreement that
was signed in 1918 for the protection of migratory bird populations.
Migratory birds are protected by the federal government with provi-
sions allowing state regulation. All birds, their parts, nests, and eggs are
protected, except as provided by open hunting seasons.

General INFORMATION

Fluorescent Orange Requirements

Solid fluorescent hunter orange must be worn above the waist and be
visible in all directions. Examples are: a hat that covers 200 square inches
or a combination of hat and vest covering 500 square inches. Fluorescent
camouflage does not meet this requirement.

200sq. in. by small game hunters during the small game season, fall
turkey hunters while traveling, and muzzleloader deer hunters during
the muzzleloader deer season.

200sq. in. by archers when traveling to/from elevated stands during the
muzzleloader season. Once in an elevated stand, archery deer hunters are
exempt from the orange requirement during the muzzleloader season.

500sq. in. by all hunters (including archers) and all users of man-
agement areas and undeveloped state parks during all portions of
shotgun deer seasons.

Hunters using pop-up blinds during the firearms deer season must
display 200 square inches of fluorescent orange visible on the outside
of the blind from all directions. Hunters must also wear orange in
accordance with the rules for the specific seasons while in the blind.

Exemptions: Raccoon hunters when hunting at night, crow hunters while
hunting over decoys, spring turkey hunters, first segment dove hunters,
and waterfow] hunters while hunting from a boat or a blind, over water
or field, when done in conjunction with decoys. Fluorescent orange is not
required in areas limited to archery-only hunting by regulation.

All other users of State Management Areas and designated undeveloped
State Parks, including but not limited to: hikers, bikers, and horseback
riders are required to wear 200 square inches of solid daylight fluores-
cent orange from the second Saturday in September to the last day of
February and the third Saturday in April to the last day in May.

WHI'I'E'I'AII.S
HUNTING RANCH

8961 Number Three Road
Y 13367

Lowville

Maybe your dream is to have a
200 B&C point buck hanging on your wall...

or is your dream to watch your child take a
trophy buck you can both be proud of...

Please call us with your dream and let us make it a reality!
We have big-bodied bucks ranging up to and over 250 B&C!

Muzzleloader, Rifle or Archery - No License Required
Lodging is Free While You Hunt

315-286-5528 | 315-286-2861 | 315-376-2190

LowlandsWhitetails.com
Email /ow/andswhitetails@yahoo.com


http://lowlandswhitetails.com

Shooting Hours & SUNRISE/SUNSET

Legal Shooting Hours
. seaon |  Hws |

Small Game

Deer Hunting

Coyote
Raccoon

Waterfowl

Canada Goose, September season only

Spring Turkey
Fall Turkey

Dove (1t segment)
Dove (2" and 3" segment)

Woodcock, Snipe & Rails

Crow

Sunrise until Sunset (7:00 AM on opening day)
5 hour before Sunrise until /2 hour after Sunset

¥ hour before Sunrise until /2 hour after Sunset
6:00 PM October 1 until 11:59 PM of the last day of February

5 hour before Sunrise until Sunset

5 hour before Sunrise until /> hour after Sunset

¥, hour before Sunrise until 1:00PM
¥, hour before Sunrise until Sunset

Noon until Sunset

Sunrise until Sunset
5 hour before Sunrise until Sunset

5 hour before Sunrise until V2 hour after Sunset

Sunrise / Sunset Table at Providence, Rl

Darker brown indicates Daylight Savings Time

01
02
03
04
05
06
07
08
09
10
1
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31

| September | October | November | December | January | February | March | April | May |
Y [ Rise [ Set | Rise [ Set | Rise [ Set | Rise | Set | Rise | Set | Rise | Set | Rise | Set | Rise [ Set | Rise | Set

6:11

6:13
6:14
6:15
6:16
6:17
6:18
6:19
6:20
6:21

6:22
6:23
6:24
6:25
6:26
6:27
6:28
6:29
6:30
6:31

6:32
6:33
6:34
6:35
6:36
6:37
6:38
6:39
6:40
6:42

718
7:16
714
713
71

7:09
7:08
7:06
7:04
7:02
7:01

6:59
6:57
6:55
6:54
6:52
6:50
6:48
6:47
6:45
6:43
6:41

6:40
6:38
6:36
6:35
6:33
6:31

6:29
6:28

6:43
6:44
6:45
6:46
6:47
6:48
6:49
6:50
6:51

6:52
6:54
6:55
6:56
6:57
6:58
6:59
7:00
7:01

7:03
7:04
7:05
7:06
7:.07
7:08
7:10
711

7:12
713
714
7:16
717

6:26
6:24
6:23
6:21

6:19
6:17
6:16
6:14
6:13
6:11

6:09
6:08
6:06
6:04
6:03
6:01

6:00
5:58
5:57
5:55
5:54
5:52
5:51

5:49
5:48
5:47
5:45
5:44
5:43
5:41

5:40

6:18
6:19
6:21
6:22
6:23
6:24
6:25
6:27
6:28
6:29
6:30
6:32
6:33
6:34
6:35
6:36
6:38
6:39
6:40
6:41
6:42
6:44
6:45
6:46
6:47
6:48
6:49
6:50
6:51
6:53

4:39
4:38
4:36
4:35
4:34
4:33
4:32
4:31
4:30
4:29
4:28
4:27
4:26
4:25
4:24
4:23
4:22
4:22
4:21
4:20
4:20
4:19
418
418
417
417
4:16
4:16
4:16
415

6:54
6:55
6:56
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6:58
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414
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4:15
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417
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712
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7:09
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7:08
7:07
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7:06
7:05
7:04
7:04
7:03
7:02
7:01

7:00
6:59
6:58

4:25
4:26
4:27
4:28
4:29
4:30
4:31
4:32
4:33
4:34
4:35
4:36
4:37
4:39
4:40
441
4:42
4:43
4:44
4:46
4:47
4:48
4:49
4:51
4:52
4:53
4:54
4:56
4:57
4:58
5:00

6:57
6:56
6:55
6:54
6:53
6:52
6:51
6:49
6:48
6:47
6:46
6:44
6:43
6:42
6:40
6:39
6:38
6:36
6:35
6:33
6:32
6:30
6:29
6:27
6:26
6:24
6:23
6:21

5:01
5:02
5:03
5:05
5:06
5:07
5:09
5:10
511

5:12
5:14
5:15
5:16
5:17
5:19
5:20
5:21

5:22
5:24
5:25
5:26
5:27
5:29
5:30
5:31

5:32
5:33
5:35

6:20
6:18
6:16
6:15
6:13
6:12
6:10
6:08
6:07
6:05
6:03
6:02
6:00
6:58
6:57
6:55
6:53
6:51
6:50
6:48
6:46
6:45
6:43
6:41
6:39
6:38
6:36
6:34
6:33
6:31
6:29
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8:12
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Hunting SEASONS SUMMARY

For further information regarding specific bag, possession, and season limits please visit the pages noted in the table below.

Deer Hunting (see page 12 for bag/season limit information)
 Seson |  Dates |

September 12 - 13 (Youth only, Zone 1)
September 26 - 27 (Youth only, Zone 2)
September 15 - January 31, 2021 (Zone 1)
October 1 - January 31, 2021 (Zone 2)

Archery (includes Crossbow)

Archery: Patience and Prudence Islands October 24 - 25 (Youth only)
(Zone 3) November 1 - January 31, 2021
Archery: Block Island (Zone 4) October 13-16, 19-23, 26-30
October 24 - 25 (Youth only Zones 1, 2)
Muzzleloader November 7 - 29 (Zones 1, 2)

December 26 - January 2, 2021 (Zones 1, 2 Private land only, antlerless deer only)
December 5 - 20 (Zone 1)
Shotgun December 5 - 13 (Zone 2)

December 26 - January 2, 2021 (Zones 1, 2 - Private land only, antlerless deer only)
November 2, 4-6,9-13, 16, 17, 19, 20, 23, 24, 30 December 1, 3, 4, 7-11, 14, 15, 17, 18, 21-24
January 4,5, 7,8, 11-15, 19-22, 25-29, 2021
February 1-5, 8-12, 16-19, 22-26, 2021

October 27 - 30

Archery, Muzzleloader & Shotgun:
Block Island (Zone 4)

Special Season for Disabled Hunters:
Patience and Prudence Islands (Zone 3)

Migratory Gamebird Hunting* (page 18 for bag/possession limit information)
 season [  Dats |

August 14 - October 4 (Fri, Sat, Sun Only), October 17 - December 7,

Crow December 18 - April 3, 2021 (Fri, Sat, Sun Only)
King/Clapper Rail and Sora/Virginia Rail September 1 - November 9

Snipe September 1 - November 9

Mourning Dove September 12 - October 11, October 17 - November 29, December 12 - 27
Woodcock October 17 - November 30

Canada Goose (Early Season) September 1-30

Canada Goose (Regular Season) November 21 - 29, December 5 - January 24, 2021
Canada Goose (Late Season) January 30 - February 13, 2021

Snow Goose (including blue goose) October 10 - January 24, 2021

Ducks, Mergansers and Coots** October 9 - 12, November 25 - 29, December 5 - January 24, 2021
Sea Ducks November 26 - January 24, 2021

Brant December 6 - January 24, 2021

Youth Waterfowl October 24 - 25

Wild Turkey Hunting (see page 28 for bag/season limit information)
| Season | Dats |

Fall Archery October 1-31
Youth & Paraplegic April 24 - 25, 2021
Spring April 29 - May 23, 2021

Small Game Hunting (see page 30 for bag/season limit information)
 Season | Dats |

September 15 - February 28, 2021

Coyote - State Land April 29 - May 23, 2021

Coyote - Private Land No Closed Season
Raccoon October 1 - February 28, 2021
Youth Pheasant October 10- 11
Pheasant October 17 - February 28, 2021
Cottontail Rabbit October 17 - February 28, 2021
Gray and Red Squirrel October 17 - February 28, 2021
Bobwhite Quail October 17 - February 28, 2021
Red, Gray Fox October 17 - February 28, 2021
Ruffed Grouse CLOSED

*Season dates are subject to regulatory changes occurring at the time of printing. Please refer to the complete Hunting and
Trapping Regulations for the 2020-2021 season.
**See new scaup regulations on page 18.



State Operated Check Stations

The state operated check stations provide biologists with information on
hunter success and gives them a chance to inspect and sample harvest-
ed game.

o Arcadia Management Area: Rt. 165, Ten Rod Road, at Wood River,
Exeter, Phone: 401-539-7117.

« Carolina Management Area: Pine Hill Road, Richmond, Phone:
401-364-3483.

o Durfee Hill Management Area: Reynolds Road (Rte 94), Glocester,
Phone: 401-568-6753

o Great Swamp Management Area: 277 Great Neck Road, West Kings-
ton, Phone: 401-789-1636

Checking, TAGGING & REPORTING

Check-In for Small Game Hunters

« Small game hunters are required to check in and out of state operated
check stations and present harvest for inspection if hunting at Great
Swamp, Arcadia, Durfee Hill and Carolina Management Areas during
the first three weekends of Small Game Season on the following dates.

o Operating Hours: October 17 - 18, October 24 - 25 and October 31 -
November 1; open 1/2 hour before sunrise until sunset.

Deer Check Stations

o All deer taken during the first four days (Saturday, Sunday, Monday &
Tuesday) of the Muzzleloader Deer Season, including deer taken with
archery equipment, must be physically checked at a state operated bio-
logical check station; except those deer taken on Patience, Prudence and
Block Island, which must be reported using the online licensing system.

» Operating Hours: November 7 - 10; open 8:00 A.M. until 6:00 P.M. daily.

How to Tag and Report Your Wild Turkey

DEM launched the online hunting and fishing licensing system in 2018. In addition to using this system to purchase licenses, permits and tags elec-
tronically, you will also use this system to report your harvests. The following shows you how to properly tag and report your wild turkey harvest!

1. BAG IT!

Congratulations on your successful harvest!
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Photo by Dylan Ferreira g

2. TAGIT!
Your tag must be notched (day, month and hour of harvest) before mov-
ing the bird for photos or to leave the woods!
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o The notched tag and turkey must remain in your possession when
removing the turkey from the field.

o If you must leave the field prior to removing the turkey (to return gear
to your vehicle or dwelling); the notched tag must be attached to and
remain with the carcass.

3. REPORT IT!

Use your QR reader on your smartphone to scan your permit, or go to:
www.ri.gov/dem/huntfish

o Measure the beard and spurs:
» Beard less than 6" and spurs less than 0.5" = Jake
» Beard longer than 6" and spurs longer than 0.5" = Tom
» No beard or spurs = Hen (fall archery season only!)

» You must report your harvest by midnight on the day of the harvest.

« Ifyou do not have internet or cellular data access to report your
turkey harvest, you may call the Division of Fish and Wildlife at (401)
789-0281 between 8:30 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. M-F to report your harvest.

o Write your harvest report confirmation number on your tag and keep
the tag with your turkey until prepared for taxidermy or consumption.

Questions: Call the Division of Fish and Wildlife (401) 789-0281 or
email dem.dfw@dem.ri.gov.
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How to Tag Your Deer
and Report Your Harvest

The online licensing system has brought changes to tagging and report-
ing your deer harvest that all hunters should be aware of. Before you
leave the house or license vendor, sign your hunting license and deer
tags! Now you will not need a pen until you report your harvest online
or over the phone! Before heading afield, grab a zip tie or string along
with a durable plastic bag and put your license and tags inside the bag to
protect them from the elements!

1. BAG IT!

Congratulations on your successful deer harvest!

2. TAGIT!

Your tag must be notched (day, hour and month of harvest) before
moving the deer for photos, field dressing or to leave the woods.
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Per Rhode Island Law, the notched tag must be affixed to and remain
with the carcass. Use care to securely affix the tag so that the tag will not
be lost when removing the deer from the woods or transporting to a check
station, butcher or your home.

L T v

HELPFUL TIP: It is recommended to place your tag in a durable,

clear plastic bag (Ziploc bag) to make sure your tag will not rip, tear, or
become illegible from water, blood or dirt. Consider rolling up the bag
with the tag inside, and placing it inside the deer’s ear and tie the ear shut
with a piece of string or zip tie. Reminder: The notched tag must remain
affixed to the deer at all times until the deer has been prepared for taxi-
dermy or consumption.

3. Report It!

Use your QR reader on your smartphone to scan your permit, or go to:
www.ri.gov/dem/huntfish

» You must report your deer harvest within 24 hours. If you do not have
internet or cellular data access to report your deer harvest, you may
call the Division of Fish and Wildlife at (401) 789-0281 between 8:30
a.m. and 4:00 p.m. Monday-Friday to report your harvest.

« Once on the harvest reporting site, you will be asked a few questions
to determine the age and sex of the animal, the location and method
of harvest and information about your time afield.

o When you are finished reporting your deer online or over the phone,
you will be given a harvest report confirmation number. This number
confirms that you have reported your harvest. Write the number on
your tag and keep the tag affixed to the deer until prepared for taxi-
dermy or consumption.

REMINDER: Physical checking of deer required November 7 -10 at a
biological check station!

o All deer taken during the period Nov. 7 - 10 must be physically
checked, except those taken on Patience, Prudence and Block Islands.

Above: Deer tag securely fastened inside ear with zip-tie.

Below: Deer tag protected in plastic bag and
securely fastened to leg with electrical tape.
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Youth & Disabled HUNTING OPPORTUNITIES

Youth Hunting Opportunities
| season |

Locations

Zone 1 September 12-13
Youth Deer Archery Zone 2 September 26 - 27
Zone 3 October 24 - 25
Youth Deer Muzzleloader Zones 1 &2 October 24 - 25
Youth Waterfowl Statewide October 24 - 25
Great Swamp WMA, South Kingstown
Youth Pheasant Durfee Hill WMA, Glocester October 10- 11
Eight Rod Farm WMA, Tiverton
Youth Turkey Statewide April 24 - 25,2021

« All youth hunters ages 12 to 14 must be in
possession of a resident or non-resident
junior hunting license in order to hunt in RI.
Youth hunters age 15 must possess a resident
or non-resident hunting license. Licenses
can be purchased after the completion of a
Hunter Safety course.

« Youth hunters age 12 - 14 must hunt in the
immediate company of an adult, 21 years
of age or older, holding a valid RI hunting
license. Hunters age 15 do not have to hunt
in the immediate company of a licensed
adult EXCEPT when waterfowl hunting
during the youth waterfowl hunt when all
youth hunters ages 12 - 15 must hunt in the
immediate company of a licensed adult.

o An adult may accompany no more than two
youth hunters at any one time. Adults are
prohibited from hunting or carrying archery
equipment/firearms during the youth-only
hunting days.

o All other hunting permit requirements and
hunting regulations per season remain.

« For more information on hunting, contact
the Division of Fish & Wildlife at 401-789-
0281 or by emailing DEM.DFW@dem.ri.gov.

o For more information about youth hunting
opportunities or our Hunter Education
program, call 401-539-0019 or email Scott.
Travers@dem.ri.gov.

Youth Deer Hunting: Dates vary depending
on Season and Zone. All other regulations and
permit requirements apply. Please see page 12
for more deer hunting information.

Youth Waterfowl Hunting: Youth hunters
may take ducks, sea ducks and geese following
daily bag and possession limits for the regular
seasons. All youth hunters (12 - 15) and those
adults accompanying youth hunters must have
a current HIP Permit and RI hunting license.

Disabled Hunting Opportunities
[ season

Special Deer Season for Disabled Hunters
Paraplegic Hunter Turkey Season

Patience and Prudence Islands (Zone 3)
Special Deer Season for Disabled Hunters: The
taking of deer will be limited to paraplegic and
double amputee hunters only.

« A special hunting permit must be obtained
through the RI DEM Office of Boat Registra-
tion and Licensing Division, 235 Promenade
St. Providence, RI 02908 (401) 222-3576
by each applicant prior to the hunt. None
will be issued on the island. An application
signed by a physician for a first-time hunter,
or a photocopy of a previous paraplegic/dou-
ble amputee hunting license, is required.

« None of the hunter’s assistants will be al-
lowed to hunt or carry loaded firearms at any
time. No license is required of the assistants.

o All deer taken must be checked using the
online harvest reporting system www.ri.gov/
dem/huntfish.

|__Locations | Dates |

October 27 - 30
April 24 - 25,2021

Zone 3
Statewide

o All deer wounded, but not recovered, must
be reported to DEM within 24 hours.

« Disabled hunters may use a shotgun or
muzzleloader.

« Ammunition is limited to a single lead or
alloy projectile, rifled slug or sabot rounds
in 10, 12, 16, or 20 gauge only. Buckshot is
prohibited. Hunters may use muzzleloading
firearms on Prudence Island.

Paraplegic Hunter Turkey Season: Spring tur-
key permit required. Hunting in this season is
limited to paraplegic hunters only as evidenced
by possession of a permanent disability hunting
license. Bag limit is two (2) provided no more
than one (1) is taken on state land.

The accompanying adult must also possess a
current RI State Waterfowl Stamp and Federal
Duck Stamp.

Youth Waterfowl Training and Mentored
Hunt: For the 6th consecutive year, the Division
of Fish and Wildlife is partnering with Ducks
Unlimited to offer a youth waterfowl training
day (September date TBA) and mentored hunt
opportunity on youth waterfowl weekend for
those youths that attend the training. Space is
limited for the training and mentored hunt. For
more information or to register, contact Jennifer
Kilburn at jennifer.kilburn@dem.ri.gov.

Youth Pheasant Hunting: Youth Pheasant
Hunt to be held on October 10 - 11 at Great
Swamp, Durfee Hill and Eight Rod Farm Wild-
life Management Areas. For more information
please email Scott.Travers@dem.ri.gov or call
401-539-0019.

Youth Turkey Hunting: Youth hunters may
take two (2) bearded turkeys during the spring
season, provided they purchase at least one (1)
spring turkey permit. No more than one (1)
bearded turkey may be taken on state lands
during the spring season. All stipulations,
permit requirements, and pertinent regulations
apply. Accompanying adult may assist the youth
hunter in calling the bird. No preregistration is
required. For more information please contact
our hunter education office by emailing Scott.
Travers@dem.ri.gov or by calling 401-539-0019.
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Deer HUNTING

Deer Hunting Seasons
| season | Dates |

September 12 - 13 (Youth only, Zone 1)*
September 26 - 27 (Youth only, Zone 2)*

Archery
(e e P Gead s September 15 - January 31, 2021
(Zone 1)
October 1 - January 31, 2021 (Zone 2)
Archery: _ %
Pationce Prudence \Oclober 242 oy
Islands (Zone 3) ¥ 2l
Archery: October 13 - 16, 19-23, 26-30
Block Island (Zone 4) (Check local ordinance)
October 24 - 25 (Youth only Zones 1, 2)*
November 7 - 29 (Zones 1,2)
Muzzleloader December 26 - January 2, 2021
(Zones 1, 2 Private land only,
antlerless deer only)
December 5 - 20 (Zone 1)
December 5 - 13 (Zone 2)
Shotgun December 26 - January 2, 2021

(Zones 1, 2 - Private land only,
antlerless deer only)

November 2,4-6,9-13, 16, 17, 19, 20,

23,24,30
Archery, Muzzleloader, December 1, 3,4, 7-11, 14, 15, 17, 18,
Shotgun (Zone 4) 2y
January 4,5, 7,8, 11-15, 19-22,
25-29, 2021

February 1-5, 8-12, 16-19, 22-26, 2021

Special Season for Disabled
Hunters: Patience &
Prudence Islands (Zone 3)

October 27 - 30

2020-21 Season Bag Limits

Statewide
(all zones & methods combined)

2 Antlered Deer, (Zone 3: no
more than 1 Antlered Deer)

Zone 1 3 Antlerless Deer
Zone 2 2 Antlerless Deer
Zone 3 2 Antlerless Deer
Zone 4 Unlimited Antlerless Deer

* See page 10 for more information on Youth & Disabled
Hunter Opportunities

Rl Deer Management Strategy:

Deer management zones (see map on page 17) have been established for
harvesting deer in accordance with specific management goals for RI.
The need to reduce auto strikes and address nuisance deer complaints
are important deer management issues in addition to DEM’s goal to
preserve and maintain quality deer hunting for sportsmen.

With this strategy we hope to:

o Provide a deer management program that maintains a healthy deer
population that is sustainable and ecologically appropriate.

« Maintain quality deer hunting opportunities recognizing the strong
tradition of hunting in Rhode Island and the important role hunting
plays in wildlife conservation.

Deer Hunting Methods

Please note: Only one firearm or bow may be possessed in the field per
individual hunter while hunting deer. Check local ordinances for further
restrictions in specific towns.

Shotgun

No person shall hunt, pursue, shoot or attempt to shoot any deer with
a shotgun capable of holding more than five shells, unless it is plugged
with one-piece filler, which is incapable of removal without disassem-
bling the gun.

Ammunition permitted for shotgun deer season is limited to a single
lead or alloy projectile, including rifled slugs or sabot round. Buckshot
is prohibited at all times.

Shotguns of 10, 12, 16, or 20-gauge are allowed.

Muzzleloaders will be permitted during the shotgun season provid-
ed hunters possess a current shotgun deer permit and comply with
muzzleloader restrictions. Hunters taking a deer must tag the deer
with the shotgun deer tag immediately after taking. All shotgun deer
season fluorescent orange requirements will be enforced.

Muzzleloader

Firearms for muzzleloader deer season are limited to .45 caliber or larg-
er using percussion caplock, flintlock, and in-line ignition systems using
percussion caps, rifle, or shotshell primers. Only single barrel or double
barrel firearms that must be loaded from the muzzle are permitted.

Ammunition for muzzleloader deer season is limited to a single
projectile, including round ball, or maxi ball type projectiles. Sabot
rounds for muzzleloader firearms are permitted. Powder is limited to
manufacturers’ specifications. Telescopic sights are permitted. Posses-
sion of modern shotgun shotshells while hunting is prohibited.

A muzzleloader is considered unloaded when the percussion cap,
primer or pan powder is removed.

Archery

Archers may use a long bow, re-curve bow, compound bow or cross-
bow for hunting deer.

Long bow, re-curve bow and compound bow must be set at not less than
forty (40) pounds for archers using fixed blade broadheads, and a mini-
mum of fifty (50) pounds for archers using mechanical broadheads.

Only broadhead tipped arrows with at least two (2) metal cutting
edges are allowed. All broadheads must be seven eighths (7/8) of an
inch or greater at the widest point including mechanical broadheads
measured in the “open” position.

Crossbows must be set at not less than one hundred twenty five (125)
pounds minimum draw weight. Expandable broadheads are permitted.

One (1) field point arrow may be carried in the quiver for the safe dis-
charge of the crossbow; the field point arrow must be made distinguish-
able from the crossbow arrow by a color difference.

All archery deer hunters must have taken and successfully completed
bow hunter education classes or hold a prior year archery deer permit
in order to obtain a current year archery deer permit.

Licensed deer hunters may carry one (1) blunt or judo tipped arrow
to hunt the open portion of the small game season during the archery
deer season.

Licensed archery deer hunters using a crossbow may carry one (1)
blunt or judo tipped arrow to hunt small game mammals during

the open portion of the small game season during the archery deer
season; no birds may be taken with a crossbow and this arrow must be
made distinguishable from broadhead tipped arrows and the dis-
charge arrow.
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Adaptive Aids
Special archery adaptive aids for use with vertical held bows may be used
by all hunters without a special permit.

Decoys

Deer decoys may be used on private lands in Zone 1 between September
15 and October 31, and in Zone 2 between October 1 and October 31
while archery hunting only. However, deer decoys may be used through-
out the extent of the open archery season on private lands in towns
where hunting with a firearm is prohibited but use of archery equipment
is permitted. When transporting deer decoys for the purpose of hunting,
persons must wear 500 square inches of fluorescent orange visible from
all sides as is currently required for shotgun deer hunting.

Prohibited Deer Hunting Activities

« The use or possession of deer scents/lures that contain natural cervid
(including deer, moose, elk) urine, gland oil, feces, tissue, blood or
any other bodily fluids while taking, attempting to take, attracting, or
scouting wildlife.

o The use of electronic calls.

o The placement or installation of tree stands on state land and co-op
properties prior to August 15th and failure to remove the tree stands
by February 15th.

o The construction and use of permanent tree stands, or the use of nails,
spikes, bolts, or climbing devices, which may damage trees on state or
co-op properties; and on private property without the permission of
the landowner.

« Hunting, pursuing or molesting deer in tidal waters or while deer are
swimming in any waters of the state.

« Feeding or baiting: the act of using, placing, giving, exposing, deposit-
ing, distributing, or scattering any material, or any act to maintain the
availability of such material that attracts deer to feed on such material.

o Driving deer by parties of over five (5) people.

Written Permission

Annual written landowner permission is required for deer hunting on
private land (RIGL 20-15-1) during the deer season. It is not required
that deer permits (tags) be signed by the landowner, provided the hunter
has other written permission in possession. Deer permits (tags) must be
carried while hunting. Annual written permission must be shown to any
authorized person upon demand, and must be presented when checking
a deer. A valid hunting license constitutes written permission on state
owned/managed land and applicable hunting cooperative properties for
which a permit is not required.

Landowner Rights & Liability

Written landowner permission is required to hunt deer on private
property. Hunters are urged to gain a landowner’s permission prior to
hunting for all other hunting activities as well. To maintain good land-
owner - hunter relations, always treat the landowner’s private property
with respect, and know and respect the property boundaries. It is also
unlawful to shoot upon the land of another without their permission.
Hunting on private land is a privilege not to be taken lightly.

To encourage landowners to make their lands available for recre-
ational purposes, RI General Law (32-6-3) limits the liability of persons
making private land available for recreational activities, including
hunting and fishing.

RSEVOUNEIRIERS

Affordable trophy whitetail hunts in N.VW. Missouiri

VAV VAV

5-Day, Fully Guided, Fair
Chase Hunts with Lodging
start at only $1,800.00!

Thousands of private acres.
No trophy fees or
hidden charges.

YES YOU CAN!

CALL TODAY:
(305) 606-1611

ranejoutitiers.co
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Deer HUNTING

Liability of Landowner: an owner of land who either directly or indi-
rectly invites or permits without charge any person to use that property
for recreational purposes does not thereby:

« Extend any assurance that the premises are safe for any purpose;

» Confer upon that person the legal status of an invitee or licensee to
whom a duty of care is owed; nor

o Assume responsibility for or incur liability for any injury to any per-
son or property caused by an act of omission of that person.

Limitations
(a) Nothing in the law limits in any way any liability which, but for this
chapter, otherwise exists:

(1) For the willful or malicious failure to guard or warn against a dangerous
condition, use, structure, or activity after discovering the user’s peril; or

(2) For any injury suffered in any case where the owner of land charges
the person or persons who enter or go on the land for the recreational
use thereof, except that in the case of land leased to the state or a subdivi-
sion thereof, any consideration received by the owner for that lease shall
not be deemed a “charge” within the meaning of this section.

(b) When the Coastal Resources Management Council designates a
right-of-way as part of its designation process as specified in § 46-23-
6(5), or when the Coastal Resource Management Council stipulates
public access as a condition of granting a permit, the landowner auto-
matically will have “limited liability” as defined in this chapter, except as
specifically recognized by or provided in this section.

Local Ordinances

Some towns restrict hunting or the discharge of firearms and, therefore,

it is important to check town ordinances before hunting. Local munici-
palities may not prevent hunting on State-owned land. Towns closed to
Sunday hunting on private lands include Portsmouth, Little Compton,
Middletown, and Barrington. Some towns require written permission

of the landowner, and/or local police department. For local and Sunday
hunting regulations, check with the town police department or town clerk.

Patience and Prudence Islands

The only legal method of deer hunting on Prudence and Patience Islands
is by archery, including crossbows. Proficiency testing is required for all
archery deer hunters on Prudence and Patience Islands. Archery deer
hunting is permitted at the Heritage Property from December 1 - 15
only. Proficiency cards must be carried while hunting. All deer taken
must be reported to DEM within 24 hours using the harvest reporting
website www.ri.gov/DEM/huntfish or be reported to an Environmental
Police Officer as prescribed. The antlered deer (buck) bag limit is one (1).

Block Island (New Shoreham)

Written permission from a landowner must be obtained before hunting
on private land and presented to and countersigned by the Block Island
Chief of Police. All deer taken must be reported to DEM within 24 hours
using the harvest reporting website www.ri.gov/dem/huntfish or be
reported to an Environmental Police Officer.

Photo Submissions

Want to share your story or photo of a successful hunt in next
year's magazine? If so, we want to know everything: time of day,
location, target species, weight, length and any other animal spe-

cific data you wish to provide. We would love to share your success
with everyone! That is, if you want to give up your secrets!

Send your photo of deer, turkey, pheasant, etc. to DEM.DFW@
dem.ri.gov and if space allows, it may be used in next year’s edition.

Cooperative and Special Hunting Areas

Block Island State Land (Black Rock / Rodman Hollow)
Deer hunting is allowed by special permit only, selected by lottery.
Applications (available at http://www.dem.ri.gov/programs/manage-
mentservices/licenses/hunting-licenses.php) to hunt state lands must be
postmarked by October 15, 2020.

Block Island, Ninigret, and John H. Chafee

National Wildlife Refuges

Block Island, Ninigret, and John H. Chafee National Wildlife Refuges

are open for hunting on designated units with some season and weapon
restrictions. Hunters must possess and carry a signed refuge hunting
brochure valid for the current season. Block Island NWR: white-tailed
deer and waterfowl hunting opportunities are available. All Block Island
hunting restrictions, State DEM, federal, and refuge regulations apply.
John H. Chafee NWR: white-tailed deer, wild turkey, and waterfowl hunt-
ing opportunities are available. Ninigret NWR: white-tailed deer and wild
turkey hunting opportunities are available. All State DEM, federal, and
refuge regulations apply at John H. Chafee and Ninigret NWRs. For infor-
mation, regulations, locations and dates, please visit http://www.fws.gov/
refuge/ninigret/visit/hunting.html or contact the USFWS at 401-364-9124.

Northwest Cooperative Hunting Area (Glocester)
Permit required and may be obtained through the online hunting license
system www.ri.gov/dem/huntfish. One permit will be issued for all
methods of deer hunting.

The Nature Conservancy Deer Hunting Co-Op

« Deer hunting only, the hunting and/or take of other species of wild-
life is prohibited

» No Special Permits Required, a valid hunting license constitutes as
written permission.

» No vehicles of any kind are allowed on the property, except in desig-
nated parking areas.

« The construction or use of permanent treestands is prohibited. The use
of nails, spikes, bolts, or devices that may damage trees is prohibited.
Climbing tree stands are permitted.

« Treestands may not be installed on TNC property prior to August
15th and must be removed by February 15th annually.

Archery: Francis Carter Preserve, Charlestown; Queens River Preserve,
Exeter; Canochet Preserve in Hopkinton; King Preserve, North Kings-
town; Cuttyhunk Brook Preserve South (area south of Stony Ln), Exeter;
Pocasset Ridge Conservation Area, Tiverton.

Archery or muzzleloader: How-Davey Preserve, Hopkinton.

Archery, muzzleloader, or shotgun: Cuttyhunk Brook Preserve North
(area north of Stony Ln), Exeter; Grass Pond Preserve (TNC property
only), Richmond.

Beavertail (Jamestown)

Archery only (11/1/20-1/31/21) no weekends prior to 12/31. Proficiency cer-
tification is required and cards must be carried while hunting. Permits must
be returned by February 15 regardless of activity or success, to be eligible for
next year’s hunt. Permits are available at the Jamestown Police Department.
Ten (10) hunters are allowed per day on a first-come first-served basis. Limit
of 5 slots per week reserved no more than twenty (20) days in advance.

Grills Preserve | (Westerly) and
Grills Preserve Il (Hopkinton)
Hunting for deer and wild turkey only. No special permit is required. A
valid hunting license constitutes written permission.

Deer hunting is permitted only during the archery and muzzleloader
portions of the deer season.

Turkey hunting is permitted in accordance with rules for the estab-
lished turkey seasons.


http://www.ri.gov/DEM/huntfish
http://www.ri.gov/dem/huntfish
http://www.dem.ri.gov/programs/managementservices/licenses/hunting-licenses.php
http://www.dem.ri.gov/programs/managementservices/licenses/hunting-licenses.php
http://www.fws.gov/refuge/ninigret/visit/hunting.html
http://www.fws.gov/refuge/ninigret/visit/hunting.html
http://www.ri.gov/dem/huntfish

Expandin
Opportun

AT RHODE

By U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

There are five National Wildlife
Refuges (NWR) in Rhode Island:
Block Island NWR, John H.
Chafee NWR, Ninigret NWR,
Sachuest Point NWR, and
Trustom Pond NWR. National
wildlife refuges exist primarily
to safeguard wildlife populations
through habitat preservation.
The word “refuge” includes the
idea of providing a haven of
safety for wildlife, and as such,
hunting might seem an inconsis-
tent use of the National Wildlife
Refuge System. However, habitat
that normally supports healthy
wildlife populations produces
harvestable surpluses that are a
renewable resource.

Hunting is a healthy, traditional
recreational use of renewable
natural resources deeply rooted
in America’s heritage, and it can
be an important wildlife manage-
ment tool. The National Wildlife
Refuge System Administration
Act of 1966, the National Wildlife Refuge System
Improvement Act of 1997, other laws, and the
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service’s policy permit
hunting (along with fishing, wildlife observation
and photography, and environmental education
and interpretation) on a national wildlife refuge
when it is compatible with the purposes for
which the refuge was established and acquired.

As practiced on refuges, hunting does not
pose a threat to the wildlife populations — and
in some instances it is necessary for sound
wildlife management. For example, deer
populations will often grow too large for the
refuge habitat to support. If some deer are not
harvested, they destroy habitat for themselves
and other animals and die from starvation or
disease. The harvesting of wildlife on refuges
is carefully regulated to ensure equilibrium
between population levels and wildlife habitat.
The decision to permit hunting on national
wildlife refuges is made on a case-by-case basis.
Considerations include biological soundness,
economic feasibility, effects on other refuge
programs and public demand.

202

ISLAND NATIONAL
WILDLIFE REFUGES

Article: HUNTING OPPORTUNITIES

% Hunting
Ities

MAKE YOUR OWN WILD GAME
SUMMER SAUSAGE AND SALAMI.
WE HAVE EVERTHING YOU NEED TO PROCESS
YOUR MEAT INTO DELICIOUS SAUSAGE
RIGHT IN YOUR OWN HOME.

COMPLETE KITS STARTING AT $13.95

Butcher & Packer Supply
P.O. Box 71748
Madison Heights, Michigan 48071

Call 1-800-521-3188
WWW. butcher packer.com

'ﬂ!"

nunt ¢

Making Huntmg & F|sh|ng Dreams Come True

for YOUNGSTERS, 21 & UNDER, with f
LIFE-THREATENING ILLNESSES ’ 2%

. Rhode Is!
SRRt The most up-to-date
i s regulations online.

Three of the five National Wildlife Refuges
are open for hunting on designated units with
some season and weapon restrictions. Hunters
must possess and carry a signed refuge hunting
brochure valid for the current season.

o Block Island NWR: white-tailed deer and
waterfowl hunting opportunities are avail-
able. All Block Island hunting restrictions,
State DEM, federal, and refuge regula-
tions apply.

« John H. Chafee NWR: white-tailed deer,
wild turkey, and waterfowl hunting oppor-
tunities are available. All State DEM, federal,
and refuge regulations apply.

« Ninigret NWR: white-tailed deer and wild
turkey hunting opportunities are available.
All State DEM, federal, and refuge regula-
tions apply.

H.0DIE LSIL A

-Hunt

&3 cRegulations.com

For information, regulations, locations and
dates, please visit http://www.fws.gov/refuge/
ninigret/visit/hunting. html or contact the
USFWS at 401-364-9124.

0-2021 Rhode Island Hunting & Trapping Guide
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State LANDS
State Lands

There are over 55,000 acres of land designated as state management areas
in Rhode Island. Maps of management areas are available from the Rhode
Island Division of Fish and Wildlife at the Great Swamp Field Office or
online at: www.dem.ri.gov. Regulations are designed and enforced to
allow all outdoor enthusiasts to safely enjoy these land holdings. Hunting
and trapping is allowed during the open seasons. In order to effectively
manage and safeguard these open areas for people, wildlife, and habitat,
the following regulations are to be followed:

 Except for fishing, hunting, launching, and/or mooring of boats, all
management areas are closed %2 hour after sunset to 5:00 a.m., except
by written permit (RIGL 32-2-4).

« Camping is prohibited on all areas with the exception of portions
designated at Arcadia and George Washington Management Areas.
Contact the Division of Forest Environment for camping information
(401) 539-2356.

« The use of motorcycles is prohibited except in designated portions of
Arcadia Management Area.

o The use of AT Vs is prohibited statewide.

 The blocking of any gate, road, or access in State Management Areas is
prohibited and subject to fines (RIGL 8-8.2-2).

o Horseback riding is prohibited in the Great Swamp Management Area
during small game and shotgun deer season (RIGL 32-2-4).

» Groups consisting of 10 or more persons must obtain a special use per-
mit available from the Division of Forest Environment, (401) 539-2356.

« Sapowet Marsh Management Area is open to deer hunting using
archery equipment only.

5_?_‘. Cad 'CWCR@Y -Biock :

USCG Licensed
ot. Mel True Fully Insured
' otainMelTrue.com

Y passengers

Undeveloped State Parks and
Other Public Reservations
Hunting is permitted in the following:

o Galilee Bird Sanctuary is open to hunting. Deer hunting is limited to
archery equipment only.

o Cocumcussoc and Washington Grove

« Burlingame State Park North Camp is open to deer and turkey hunt-
ing only

o Snake Den is open to archery deer hunting only.

« Ninigret Conservation Area/East Beach is open to small game hunt-
ing and archery deer hunting only.

« J.L.Curran is open to shotgun and archery hunting only, within the
posted designated areas; this area is closed to mourning dove hunting.

Dogs on Management Areas

No dogs shall be trained, run, exercised or be permitted to run at large on
state management areas from March 15 - August 15, inclusive, without writ-
ten permission of the State Lands Management Council , except in specified
dog training areas (below). Walking of dogs on a leash of not more than
twenty-five (25) feet in length shall be permitted on roads and trails only.
All dogs being utilized in hunting or training activities must wear a collar
bearing the name and address of the owner and the handler must hold in
possession a valid dog license or tag but it does not need to be on the dog.

Special Dog Training Areas

Dog training is allowed in designated areas located within Arcadia
Management Area (Midway Trail) in Exeter, Nicholas Farm Management
Area (north of Trestle Trail) in Coventry, and Black Farm Management
Area in Hopkinton from January 1 to September 30, from sunrise to
sunset. The use of live birds is by special permit only. A hunting license is
required when training dogs on wild game on state management areas,
except when participating in state sanctioned field trials.

Bay Islands

Prudence Island
Written permission of the landowner, countersigned by the Portsmouth
police chief, must be obtained to hunt private property on Prudence
Island. South Prudence is closed to small game hunting. The small game
season on Prudence Island is November 1 - 30, except on North Pru-
dence, where the small game season is January 1 - 31, 2021; North Pru-
dence is located north of the State gate, at the northern terminus of Neck
Farm Road. Raccoon open hunting season for Prudence Island is the first
day of January through the last day of February with written permission
of the landowner. Bow hunters with a valid archery deer permit may take
raccoon on Prudence Island during legal deer hunting hours beginning
on the first day of November and ending on the last day of January.
Waterfowl hunting is permitted no more than 10 feet above mean
high water on Prudence Island, except during the early waterfowl season,
as established by federal regulation, and during November 1 - 30. Special
deer season for disabled hunters limited to paraplegic and double ampu-
tee deer hunters only by special permit available at the RI DEM Office of
Boat Registration and Licensing (401-222-3576).

Other Restrictions
Dutch Island: Closed to hunting and all other access.

East and West Island: No Trespassing April 1 - August 15, for nesting birds.

Dyer Island, Gould Island, Hope Island: No Trespassing April 1 - August
15, for nesting birds. All domestic animals prohibited except hunting dogs
during small game, migratory upland game bird and waterfowl seasons.

Patience Island: Closed to small game and upland game bird hunting,
except for coyote. All domestic animals prohibited except hunting dogs
during the waterfowl season.


http://www.dem.ri.gov
http://captainmeltrue.com
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4 ) Check Station

Special Hunting Area
I State Hunting Area

Deer Management Zone

Management Areas

More detailed maps and information are available in the
Outdoor Recreation Atlas at www.dem.ri.gov/maps/

Rl Deer Management Zones Bag Limits

Statewide 2 Antlered Deer, (Zone 3: no
(all zones & methods combined) more than 1 Antlered Deer)
4 Zone 1 3 Antlerless Deer
Zone 2 2 Antlerless Deer
BI Zone3 2 Antlerless Deer
Zone 4 Unlimited Antlerless Deer

2020-2021 Rhode Island Hunting & Trapping Guide

eer Management Zone map
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Migratory Bird HUNTING

Waterfowl Seasons and Bag Limits

Youth Waterfowl
Hunting Days*

Canada Goose
Early Season

Canada Goose
Regular Season

Canada Goose
Late Season

Snow Goose
(Including Blue Goose)

Brant

Sea Ducks™

Ducks

Scaup

Coots
Mergansers
Swans

Harlequin Duck

October 24 - 25

September 1 -30

November 21 - 29
and December 5 -
January 24, 2021

January 30 -
February 13,2021

October 10 -
January 24, 2021
December 6 -
January 24, 2021
November 26 -
January 24, 2021

October9-12
November 25 - 29
December5 -
January 24, 2021

October 9 - 12,
November 25 - 29,
December5 -
January 4, 2021

January 5 - 24,2021
Same As Ducks

Same As Ducks
No Season

Closed

Same as regular
season, listed
below

15

25

2
15

5

|______Season | __Dates | DailyBagLimit

Open to youth hunters age 12-15 accompanied by a licensed
adult, 21 years of age or older and may take ducks, sea ducks
and geese

Shooting hours are %2 hour before sunrise to %2 hour after sunset
for September season only

Special permits are required for the South Shore Management
Area and may be obtained through the online licensing system
or the DFW. Field reservations are required. See page 23 for
more information.

Limited to Providence, Bristol and Kent counties and portions
of Washington County as described in RIHR §9.11(B)(3)(d). A map
depicting the area open to hunting is available on the Depart-
ment of Environmental Management'’s website.

No possession limit

The daily bag limit is 5, singly or in aggregate, but not to exceed
4 Scoter, 4 Eider, or 4 Long-tailed Ducks.

The daily bag limit shall contain no more than:

Mallard
Black Duck
Canvasback
Pintail
Redhead
Wood Duck
Scaup
Other Duck Species

2 (1 hen)

see belo

AT WN=NN

The daily bag limit of scaup is part of the duck daily bag limit of 6

Hooded merganser 2

Caution: Harlequin ducks are found in sea duck hunting areas along rocky coastal
shores, specifically in the vicinity of Sachuest Point National Wildlife Refuge, Middletown
and Beavertail Pt., Jamestown. The female Harlequin duck is similar in appearance to
female bufflehead, goldeneye, or scoter, and can be mistaken for the latter species.

The possession limit shall contain no more than three (3) times the daily bag limit listed above.

* See page 10 for more information on Youth and Disabled Hunter Opportunities.

** Except for the periods November 26 - 29, 2020 and December 5, 2020 - January 24, 2021, sea ducks may be taken only in the Special Sea Duck Hunting
Areas. These areas are seaward of the first upstream bridge, which includes Washington Bridge-Seekonk River; Mt. Hope Bridge-Mt. Hope Bay; and
Sakonnet Bridge-Sakonnet River. Sea ducks taken in areas outside of Special Sea Duck Hunting Areas during the periods November 26 - 29, 2020 and
December 5, 2020 - January 24, 2021 will be considered as part of the regular daily six (6) bird bag limit. Sea ducks may not be taken during the first
segment, as well as the first day of the second segment of the regular duck season October 9 - 12 and November 25, 2020.

Migratory Shore and Upland Game Bird Seasons and Bag Limits
[ Season | Dats | Baglimits |

August 14 - October 4 (Fri, Sat, Sun Only)

Crow
King/Clapper Rail
Sora/Virginia Rail
Snipe

Mourning Dove

Woodcock

October 17 - December 7 (inclusive) Unlimited
December 18 - April 3, 2021 (Fri, Sat, Sun Only)
September 1 - November 9 1
September 1 - November 9 3
September 1 - November 9 5
September 12 - October 11
October 17 - November 29 15
December 12 - 27
October 17 - November 30 3

The possession limit shall contain no more than three (3) times the daily bag limit listed above.



2020-21 Waterfowl Highlights:
1. Scaup has been split into two seasons:

» QOctober 9 - 12, November 25 - 29, Decem-
ber 5 - January 4, 2021 with a daily bag
limit of 1.

» January 5 - 24, 2021 with a daily bag limit
of 2.

2. Brant season has been extended to fifty (50)
days.

3. Pintail daily bag limit remains one (1) bird
per day.

4. Permit and reservations are required to
hunt geese at the South Shore Management
Area during the regular season. Permits
will be issued online and at the DFW Great
Swamp Field office (see page 23 for details).

5. All migratory bird hunters must possess a
Rhode Island Harvest Information Pro-
gram (HIP) Permit, available through the
online licensing system.

6. All waterfowl hunters sixteen (16) years of
age and older must possess a RI State Wa-
terfowl Stamp and Federal Duck Stamp.

7. Discharge of a firearm within five hundred
(500) feet of an occupied dwelling is prohibited.

8. Cripples may be pursued, shot and retrieved
from a boat under power in tidal waters sea-
ward of the first upstream bridge; crippled
birds must be immediately killed.

9. All regulations pertaining to migratory bird
hunting also pertain to falconry hunting
(special permit required, contact the DFW
for more details).

10. Non-toxic shot is required per Federal reg-
ulation for all dove, duck and goose hunting
in Field 1 at South Shore Management Area.

Migratory Bird Hunting And
Conservation Stamp

The law requires that each waterfowl hunter
sixteen (16) years of age and over must carry on
his or her person a valid Federal Migratory Bird
Hunting and Conservation Stamp (“Federal
Duck Stamp”) signed in ink across the face. Wa-
terfow] hunters must also possess a RI State Wa-
terfowl Stamp, signed in ink across the face, or
a State Waterfowl Stamp Certification obtained

through the web-based online licensing system
https://www.ri.gov/DEM/huntfish. Those
wishing to obtain a RI waterfowl stamp ($7.50)
may do so at the Division of Fish and Wildlife,
Great Swamp Field Headquarters: 277 Great
Neck Rd, West Kingston, RI 02892, Monday
through Friday between 8:30 a.m. and 4:00 p.m.
A limited number of “hunter” edition stamps
will be printed and available for purchase.

Harvest Information Permit - HIP
All migratory bird hunters are required by
Federal Law to obtain a RI Harvest Informa-
tion Program (HIP) Permit, obtainable through
the online licensing system www.ri.gov/dem/
huntfish, at hunting license vendors and partic-
ipating town clerks statewide. For more infor-
mation, call 401-789-0281. A HIP certification
must be included on your license document to
hunt migratory birds.

About The Artist

Inell Chase has been making art since she
could hold a pencil, when she turned six she
proudly declared that she was ready for “real”
art supplies and not a day has gone by that she
hasn’t drawn or painted something. Nellie was
adopted as a small child and had serious health
challenges, art has always been her means of
expressing herself and finding comfort. The
stamp competition presented her with a set of
new challenges as an artist, that her design was
chosen has been a wonderful affirmation of her
efforts and her talent. It is her goal to become a
graphic designer and illustrator, this is the
beginning of that dream.

Non-Toxic Shot Requirements

No person shall hunt, pursue, shoot or attempt
to take waterfowl, rails, or snipe within the State
of Rhode Island, including associated jurisdic-
tional tidal waters which extend from mean high
water to the seaward limit of three miles, while

Contribute to the Rl Waterfowl Programs

You can contribute to the Rl waterfowl programs by investing in a limited edition stamp set for your home or office. Order forms
for collector and signed governor edition 2020 Rhode Island Waterfowl Stamps may be obtained by contacting the Rhode Island
Division of Fish and Wildlife at 277 Great Neck Rd., West Kingston, Rl 02892, 401-789-0281. The Rl Division of Fish and Wildlife
thanks waterfowl stamp and print collectors for your past support in funding our Waterfowl and Wetland Conservation Pro-
grams, and hope you contribute by adding RI’s 2020-2021 stamp to your collection

possessing shells loaded with any shot other
than non-toxic shot (e.g., steel, bismuth-tin,
tungsten-iron, tungsten-polymer, tungsten-ma-
trix, and tungsten-nickel-iron-shot) and other
shot as approved by United States Fish and
Wildlife Service (USFWS). All shot larger than
BB is prohibited; including duplex loads contain-
ing shot larger than BB. Tin shot is prohibited.

Hunting Restrictions
No person shall take migratory game birds:

o With a trap, snare, net, crossbow, rifle, pistol,
swivel gun, shotgun larger than 10-gauge, punt
gun, battery gun, machine gun, fishhook, poi-
son, drug, explosive or stupefying substance.

« With a shotgun capable of holding more
than three shells, unless it is plugged with a
one-piece filler that is incapable of removal
without disassembling the gun.

o From a sink box (a low floating device, hav-
ing a depression affording the hunter a means
of concealment beneath the surface of water).

o From or with the aid or use of a car or
other motor-driven land conveyance or any
aircraft, except that paraplegics and single or
double amputees of the legs may take from
any stationary motor vehicle or stationary
motor-driven land conveyance.

» From or by means of any motor boat or sail
boat unless the motor has been completely
shut off and/or the sail furled, and its prog-
ress therefore has ceased.

« By the use or aid of live decoys. All live, tame
or captive ducks and geese shall be removed
for a period of 10 consecutive days prior to
hunting, and confined within an enclosure
which substantially reduces the audibility
of their calls and totally conceals such tame
birds from the sight of migratory waterfowl.

« Using records or tapes of migratory bird
calls or sounds, or electrically amplified
imitations of bird calls.

» By driving, rallying or chasing birds with
any motorized conveyance or any sail boat to
put them in the range of hunters.

« By the aid of baiting (placing feed such as corn,
wheat, salt, or other feed to constitute a lure or

If you are concerned about the future of waterfowling, the best way to support adequate waterfowl populations is to:

Purchase federal and Rl waterfowl stamps

Join and participate in private conservation organizations

Educate and train youth hunters and introduce them to waterfowling
Learn to identify ducks and proper shooting distances to eliminate sky busting and crippling losses.



https://www.ri.gov/DEM/huntfish
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enticement), or on/over a baited area. Hunters
should be aware that a baited area is consid-
ered to be baited for 10 days after removal of
the bait, and it is not necessary for the hunter
to know an area is baited to be in violation.

» Dual Violation: Violation of State migratory
bird regulations is also a violation of Feder-
al regulations.

Closed Areas

Providence, East Providence, Pawtucket —
That portion of the Seekonk River north of the
railroad bridge to a line across the Seekonk River
running between the intersection of Gulf Road
and River Drive (Providence side) to the south-
erly abutment of the railroad bridge at the outlet
of Omega Pond (East Providence side), shall

be closed to waterfowl hunting. The discharge
of firearms while waterfowl hunting on the
Seekonk River is restricted to discharge toward
open water (seaward).

Warwick - Brush Neck Cove, so-called, in its
entirety. Mill Cove, so-called, in its entirety,
including the beachfront. Buttonwoods Cove,
so-called, in its entirety.

North Kingstown - Mill Cove, Wickford, so
called, in its entirety. Fishing Cove, Wickford,
area west of a line to be determined bisecting
Cornelius Island. All discharge of firearms while
waterfowl hunting is restricted to discharge in
an easterly direction from the above line. The
Division of Fish and Wildlife will establish the
line of demarcation.

Charlestown - Watchaug Pond and Poquiant
Brook, or hunting within 100 yards upland of
the shore or bank of same.

Tiverton — That unnamed estuary in Tiverton,
north of Seapowet Avenue and east of Jack’s Is-
land, bounded on the west, south, and east shore

Migratory Bird HUNTING

by the Audubon Society of RI's Emilie Ruecker
Wildlife Refuge, and as posted by Audubon
Society of RI and Department of Environmental
Management signs. The affected area includes
the inlet of this estuary and marshland on the
north side of this outlet.

Middletown - Sachuest Point NWR) shoreline
below mean high water to mean low water sur-
rounding the National Wildlife Refuge property is
closed to all hunting: No hunting along shoreline.

Lincoln/Central Falls - Pursuant to RIGL
11-47-49.1, discharge of a firearm within the
Blackstone Valley Flood Plains or Marshes, also
known as “Valley Marshes” is prohibited.

Additional Restrictions

Barrington - The Barrington River between
Central Bridge at Massasoit Avenue and Bar-
rington Bridge #123 at County Road is closed to
hunting, except for that section on the river east
of Puritan Avenue (41.745873° N, -71.309876°
W) and west of the point southwest of Seabrook
Court (41.744189° N, -71.306622° W). Hunting
shall be restricted to the water areas below the
vegetation line. Discharge of firearms while wa-
terfowl hunting is restricted to discharge toward
open water (seaward).

Bristol - Walker Island - discharge of firearms
while waterfowl hunting is restricted to dis-
charge toward open waters (seaward).

East Providence - Check local ordinances for
restrictions. The discharge of firearms while wa-
terfowl hunting is restricted to discharge toward
open water (seaward).

Warwick - Rock Island and its adjacent groin
extending northward off Narragansett Park-
way. The discharge of firearms while waterfowl
hunting is restricted to discharge toward open
water (seaward).

Cranston - Washouset Point (Pawtuxet Cove)
north to Fields Point including Stillhouse Cove,
the discharge of firearms while waterfowl hunt-
ing is restricted to discharge towards open wa-
ter (seaward). No hunting within five hundred
(500) feet of occupied buildings (RIGL 20-13-7)
from the shoreline or from a watercraft.

Little Compton - All waterfow] hunters must
have the following to hunt the Simmons Mill
Pond only in the Simmons Mill Management
Area: (a) waterfowl decoys; (b) retrieving breed
of hunting dog, and/or a boat without motor, or
canoe without motor.

North Kingstown - Waterfowl hunting on Bel-
leville Pond is restricted to the northwest seg-
ment of the large pond as designated by DEM
signs. The discharge of firearms is restricted
toward open waters. Waterfowl hunting is per-
mitted after November 15 by town ordinance.
Firearms must remain cased until individual
reaches hunting area (blind or boat).

Check local ordinances for shooting or hunt-
ing restrictions.

Wanton Waste

All migratory game birds killed or crippled
shall be retrieved, if possible, and retained in
the custody of the hunter in the field.

Tagging

No person shall give, put or leave any migratory
game birds at any place or in the custody of
another person unless the birds are tagged by the
hunter with the following information:

1. The hunter’s signature

2. The hunter’s address
3. The total number of birds involved, by species

4. The dates such birds were killed

No person or business shall receive or have in
custody any migratory game birds belonging to
another unless such birds are properly tagged.

Possession Of Live Birds

Wounded birds reduced to possession shall be
immediately killed and included in the daily
bag limit.

Dressing

No person shall completely field dress any mi-
gratory game bird (except doves and band-tailed
pigeons) and then transport the birds from the
field. The head or one fully feathered wing must
remain attached to all such birds while being
transported from the field to one’s home or to a
migratory bird preservation facility.

Shipment

No person shall ship migratory game birds un-
less the package is marked on the outside with:
(a) the name and address of the person sending
the birds, (b) the name and address of the
person to whom the birds are being sent, and
(c) the number of birds, by species contained in
the package.
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Importation

For information regarding the importation

of migratory birds killed in another country,
hunters should consult 50 CFR 20.61 through
20.66. One fully-feathered wing must remain
attached to all migratory birds being transport-
ed between the port of entry and one’s home

or to a migratory bird preservation facility. No
person shall import migratory game birds killed
in any foreign country, except Canada, unless
such birds are dressed (except as required in
20.63), drawn, and head and feet are removed.
No person shall import migratory game birds
belonging to another person.

Reference

Federal regulations related to migratory game
birds are located in Title 50, Code of Federal
Regulations, Part 20.

Hunting On National

Wildlife Refuges

More restrictive regulations may apply to Na-
tional Wildlife Refuges open to public hunting.
For additional information on Federal regula-
tions, contact the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Agent,
401-364-9124.

Avian Disease

Since the detection of Highly Pathogenic Avian
Influenza (HPAI) in North America in 2015, the
Rhode Island Department of Environmental

Management has participated in a nationwide
surveillance effort of wild birds. To date, there
have been no positive detections of HPAT in wild
birds in Rhode Island. The Department and
cooperators have scaled back HPAI surveillance
efforts and appreciates the past support of hunt-
ers in providing specimens for sampling. Despite
scaled back surveillance efforts, the Department
encourages hunters to remain vigilant and
report unusual or suspected mortality events.

Due to the presence of HPAI in North Amer-
ica, the DFW strongly advises hunters to adhere
to the following procedures when handling wild
birds to avoid possible exposure to themselves,
pets or domestic poultry:

« Do not handle or butcher game animals that
are obviously sick or are found dead.

« Do not eat, drink, or smoke while cleaning game.

« Wear rubber gloves or cover hands with
plastic when cleaning game.

« Wash your hands with soap and hot water
for at least 20 seconds after handling game.

o Carry disinfecting wipes or an alcohol-based
gel into the field with you for immediate use
after handling game.

« Wash tools and working surfaces with soap
and water, then disinfect with a 10% solution
of chlorine bleach.

» Cook game meat thoroughly—reaching an
internal temperature of 165° F.

“It is the policy of the Rhode Island Depart-
ment of Environmental Management to
offer its services and accommodations to
all orderly persons, and, as required, to all
properly licensed persons, without regard
to race, religion, color, national origin, an-
cestry, sex, age, or disability.” If you believe

that you have been discriminated against
in any program, activity, facility, or if you
desire further information, please write
to the Office for Equal Opportunity, U.S.
Department of the Interior, Office of the
Secretary, Washington, D.C. 20240.

Clean birds in an area that poultry and pet
birds cannot access. There should be a solid
barrier between your game cleaning area
and where birds are housed.

Keep a separate pair of shoes to be worn only
in the game cleaning area. Clean and disin-
fect all footwear when coming in and out of
the cleaning area.

Use dedicated tools for cleaning game, do
not mix tools that you use around poultry or
pet birds.

Double bag offal and feathers, tying both
bags shut.

« Place bags in a container that poultry, pet

birds, children, or other pets cannot access.

Attention Migratory Bird Hunters

Reminder: Report ALL bird bands ONLINE!
www.reportband.gov

Since June 2017, band reports are no longer taken over the phone via the 1-800 number.
Band reports may also be mailed to: USGS Bird Banding Lab
12100 Beach Forest Rd, Laurel, MD 20708

Your band reports are important for migratory bird conservation!
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! Late Season cANADA GOOSE MAP _

Zone Map for Canada Goose
Late Hunting Season Only

Dates: January 30 - February 13, 2021

Bag Limit: 5 Possession Limit: 15

Limited to Providence, Bristol and Kent counties and
portions of Washington County as described in RI
Hunting Regulations §9.11 (B)(3)(d).

Block Island Closed.

Border Description

. From Rt. 95 at the RI/CT Line, north to Exit 3, Rt.138 in . South along Rt. 1/Tower Hill Rd. to the intersection of

Richmond. Rt. 138.
E1 Closed . East along Rt. 138 to Glen Rock Rd., Richmond. . East along Rt. 138 to the base of the Jamestown
D Open . North along Glen Rock Rd. to Mail Rd., Exeter. Bridge.
. East along Mail Rd. to Rt. 2/South Country Trail, . Extending north/northeast along the Washington/
Exeter. Newport county line.
. North along Rt. 2/South County Trail to Exeter Rd. . Extending east, 1,000 feet north of the northerly most
0 5 Miles . East along Exeter Rd. to the intersection of Indian point of Jamestown to a point 1,000 feet offshore of

Corner Rd. the Melville Boat Launch, Portsmouth. (No hunting
Lol

. East to the merger of Indian Corner Rd. and West along the shoreline of mainland Portsmouth!)
Allenton Rd. . North following a line 1,000 feet offshore of Ports-

. East to the intersection of West Allenton Rd. and Rt. 4. mouth’s western shoreline to the Mount Hope Bridge.

. South along Rt. 4 to the intersection of Rt. 4/Rt.1 . Extending east/northeast across Mt. Hope Bay from
(Tower Hill Rd.) the bridge to the RI/ MA border.
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South Shore
Management Area Goose
Hunting Cooperative

Permits

o Required for all goose hunters during the
regular Canada goose season (November 21 -
29, December 5 - January 24, 2021).

o Must be obtained from the online licensing
system www.ri.gov/dem/huntfish or from
the Division of Fish and Wildlife’s Great
Swamp Field Headquarters, 277 Great Neck
Rd., West Kingston.

o License document with SSMA permit certi-
fication must be carried while goose hunting
at the SSMA and must be shown to any DEM
Environmental Police Officer or Division of
Fish and Wildlife employee upon request.

Field Reservations

o Required for Canada goose hunting during
the regular goose season (November 21 - 29,
December 5 - January 24, 2021).

Additional SSMA Goose
Hunting Regulations

« See information packet provided with the
goose hunting permit or online (http://www.
dem.ri.gov/programs/bnatres/fishwild/pdf/
waterfowlab-ssma.pdf) for additional rules and
regulations for goose hunting in the SSMA.

o SSMA is CLOSED during the late goose
season: January 30 - February 13, 2021.

Harvest Reporting

o Allregular season Canada goose hunters
are required to report their harvest through
the online licensing system. Those without
internet access may submit their written log
to the Division of Fish and Wildlife using the
hunting activity and harvest record included
with their SSMA permit. Failure to do so
may result in a loss of hunting privileges for
the 2021-22 season.

Prohibited
o Littering
o Fires

o Destruction of fencing, equipment, farm
property, or standing crops

 Possession or use of alcoholic beverages

« Shooting within five hundred (500) feet of an
occupied building; shooting near or other-
wise disturbing person working in the area

o Urinating or defecating in pit blinds

Photo by Sarah Petrarca
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Additional Hunting
Restrictions at SSMA

Dove hunting is allowed in fields 1, 3, 5and 6
except during the regular goose season. Doves
may be taken by permitted goose hunters

while goose hunting when the field reservation
system is in place during the open Dove season.
Possession of lead shot for taking doves while
goose hunting is prohibited.

Upland game hunting is allowed only in fields
5 and 6 during the upland game season except
during the regular Canada goose seasons. All
upland game hunting is prohibited during
regular goose season, including Youth Water-
fowl Weekend.

Deer hunting during the archery season is al-
lowed ONLY in the wooded portions of field 3,
5 and 6 throughout the archery season, includ-
ing during the regular Canada goose season
when the field reservation system is in place.

Deer hunting during the muzzleloader season
is allowed ONLY in the wooded portions of
field 5 and 6, EXCEPT during the regular Can-
ada goose season.

X
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Deer hunting during the shotgun season is
allowed ONLY in field 6 and its wooded portions
EXCEPT during the regular Canada goose season.

Turkey hunting is allowed in the wooded por-
tions of Fields 3, 5, and 6 during the spring and
fall turkey seasons.

Waterfowl hunting is allowed outside of the reg-
ular Canada goose season but within legal water-
fowl seasons and without special hunting permits,
reservation, or decoy restrictions, once crops are
harvested. The taking of ducks during legal duck
seasons is permitted while goose hunting.

Non-toxic shot is required per Federal regu-
lation for all dove, duck (including coot and
merganser), and goose hunting in Field 1 at
South Shore Management Area.

Violations of any SSMA regulations, state man-
agement area regulations, and/or any state or
federal hunting laws will result in loss of hunt-
ing privileges on the SSMA for a period of one
year, beginning from the date of the violation.

For additional information, see the 2020-2021
RI Hunting Regulations or call the Division of
Fish and Wildlife at (401) 789-0281.

~
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Article: R3, MENTORING AND ME

R3, Mentoring, and Me

By Scott Travers, Hunter Education Coordinator, RI DFW

Participation in hunting has declined over

the last 10 years. Most of us have noticed this
in the field and I am sure those of us reading
this article know someone who used to hunt
but no longer does. In addressing the reasons
behind why we are experiencing a decrease in
hunting participation most, if not all states,
have adopted the “R3 model” looking at the
causes for this and what we might be able to do
to change the trend.

R3 stands for Recruitment, Retention, and
Reactivation. This model takes the position that
people fall into one of three different groups,
those who have never hunted before, those who
currently hunt, and those who have hunted in
the past but currently do not.

Prior to the decrease in participation state
governments and other organizations weren’t
concerned with these concepts. Hunting was
a popular activity, either for sustenance or as
a way of life, and the focus was more towards
regulating the activity and ensuring the safety
of those in the field.

The history of “hunter education”, which
started in New York State in the 1920’s, was
to provide basic information, primarily about
firearm safety and safety in the field, left most
of the real world “how to” to the new hunter’s
father, uncle, older brother, etc. However, in
today’s world people are getting further and
further away from nature. We are increasingly
drawn to technology and connectivity. If you
can’t post, click, share, link to, or view it on-line
then it just isn’t relative to a large portion of
society today. As we get older it seems the level

of technology available and the integration of it
in our day to day lives is accelerating at such a
pace that it is hard to keep up. Examples of this
are endless. Technology and specifically the
cell phone have created the virtual world where
people are spending their time, not in the field.

Those who are interested in learning how to
hunt no longer have a father, uncle, older broth-
er, or other person to mentor them. Those who
still hunt face increasing challenges to hunting
including any number of activities and obliga-
tions that compete for time. Those who used to
hunt simply no longer have the time, are older
and have less mobility, or have succumbed to
the challenges that those of us who still hunt
face today.

States are now designing programs tailored
to reach people in each of these groups. In
Rhode Island we are increasing the number of
our “secondary education” programs. These
programs are non-certification based. They are
designed to provide information to participants
to help expand their knowledge base, be safer,
and be more successful in the field.

For example, the field training program
takes both new and experienced hunters and
well as those who are considering taking a
hunter education certification course on a guid-
ed stalk through a wooded area where various
hunting scenarios are presented. This gives
participants the opportunity to gain insight
from hunter education instructors and pro-
gram volunteers in various aspects of hunting
including firearms safety, range estimation,
land navigation, shoot / don’t shoot scenarios,
etc. Other programs include the turkey hunting
workshop, deer hunting workshop, small game
mentored hunt, etc.

While these programs help hunters from
all the R3 groups, they cannot address all the
issues that face those who want to hunt, those
who still hunt, and those who no longer hunt.
One way to address the issues facing all three
groups is through mentoring. Those of us who
still hunt have the knowledge and skills to
be successful in the field. Why not consider
sharing all that experience with someone who
wants to learn?

Mentoring someone might be as simple as
reaching out to a friend who used to hunt. That
person may have all the experience they need
to be successful but simply need a hand getting
out into the field, carrying gear, or just another
person to go with to motivate them to get back
into it again. That other hunter may even be
able to help you be more successful by sharing
their experiences with you.

New hunters are easy to find. If you belong
to arod and gun club you can find them almost

everywhere. Think about your family and
friends. Have any of them asked you about
hunting? It’s always great to mentor someone
you are close to because you both already have
a personal relationship. In hunter education

we would say that is the Sportsman Stage in
hunter development, when a hunter is focused
more on sharing his/her personal knowledge
and focused on the success of other hunters. It
is a wonderful thing being there to help another
hunter take his/her first animal. It’s like being
successful the first time yourself all over again.
I consider it an honor to have helped people
take their first animals. It’s something that peo-
ple will remember for the rest of their lives and
I was able to be part of that. I find great satisfac-
tion in helping others grow and to accomplish
their goals, especially in the outdoors. Very
often I am heading out not for myself, but for
someone else that I am mentoring. That keeps
me going into the field.

Every year many new hunters reach out to
the Hunter Education Office looking for men-
tors to help them get started. Maybe you might
consider being part of that. The commitment
level is up to you. You don’t have to become a
full-fledged hunter education instructor to help
new hunters out. Perhaps you have a story or
two that you want to share about something
you learned or something that you figured out
on your own that helped you be successful.

You should share them. You could be a guest
speaker during the next hunter ed class at your
rod and gun club. It would only take a few
minutes of your day to inspire a whole room of
new hunters.

Remember, if we don’t pass on the experi-
ence and knowledge we have acquired then all
those hard learned lessons need to be relearned
by other people the same way we did. Why not
help the next generation of hunters and make it
alittle easier for them?

While the staff at the Hunter Education
Office and the many volunteer instructors and
assistant instructors who bring the program
to life do an amazing job there simply aren’t
enough of us to mentor everyone who reaches
out to us. Non-governmental organizations like
the Rhode Island Federated Sportsmen’s Club,
National Wild Turkey Federation, and Back-
country Hunters and Anglers, as well as many
others, help to unify, teach, and mentor new
hunters as well. This season please consider
reaching out to a former hunter, someone you
know who may be interested in hunting, or
even to an organization that promotes safe,
ethical, and responsible hunting to see how you
might be able to get involved, and help keep our
sport relevant in today’s world.
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State Land Spotlight: nicHoLAS FARM WMA

By Tanner Steeves, Wildlife Biologist, RI DEM

Rhode Island DEM’s Management Areas
provide hunting and fishing opportunities to
the public, and protect wildlife habitat and
important natural communities. In 1969 a 146-
acre parcel in Coventry, Rhode Island contain-
ing Carbuncle Pond was purchased to establish
Nicholas Farm Wildlife Management Area.
With subsequent acquisitions in the 1980s and
1990s, including the historic Cy Place Farm,
the area now totals 1,550 acres. These purchases
were accomplished in part with funding from
the Federal Aid to Wildlife and Sport Fish Res-
toration program. Nicholas Farm is adjacent to
Pachaug State Forest in Sterling, CT and con-
tributes to a large network of conservation land

to.by Tanner Steeves

throughout the borderlands held by RIDEM
and other conservation organizations.

Nicholas Farm is dominated by coniferous
forest and oak forest, along with a variety of
other habitats including pitch pine woodland,
and grasslands. The 31-acre Carbuncle Pond is
located to the north and provides ample fishing
opportunity during all seasons, featuring a boat
ramp and fixed dock. Along the western bor-
der, patches of young forest have been created
through forest management to provide habitat
for wildlife that rely on these dense thickets.
Several coldwater streams flow through the
area, including the Mossup River, Roaring
Brook, and Bucks Horn Brook. A recent project

initiated in 2017 was undertaken to restore
alarge tract of pitch pine-scrub oak barrens
through tree thinning and prescribed fire at the
Nicholas Unit. The Trestle Trail bike path, op-
erated by RIDEM Parks and Recreation, bisects
Nicholas Farm connecting Lewis Farm Road to
Route 14A in Sterling.

Nicholas Farm is accessible from Plainfield
Pike (Route 14) and from Nicholas Road where
gated access roads and unimproved trails wind
throughout the property. Nicholas Farm is open
to all forms of regulated hunting and trapping,
and is located within Deer Management Zone
2. White-tailed deer, turkey, and fisher are
considered relatively abundant here. Two areas
of open fields, the Place Farm Unit and the
Nicholas Unit, are stocked with ring-necked
pheasant throughout the small game season.
Federal Aid to Wildlife Restoration funds made
available through the Pittman-Robertson Act
and Dingell-Johnson Act, along with matching
funds from the sale of hunting and fishing
licenses and permits, are used to maintain and
enhance this Management Area. With the re-
cent boundary expansion here and other recent
acquisitions at Tillinghast Pond and Durfee
Hill Management Area, RIDEM continues to
increase its portfolio of open space to help sup-
port wildlife conservation and provide hunting
opportunities to the public. Get outside and
enjoy Nicholas Farm Management Area!
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Article: oNLINE MAPPING

/Online Mapping

MAPS YOU CAN USE AT HOME AND ON YOUR SMART
PHONE TO HELP YOU ENJOY OUR STATE LANDS!

By Paul Jordan, Supervising GIS Specialist RIDEM

Looking for a new place to hunt or fish? Want to
know where’s the closest check station, or which
Wildlife Management Areas (WMA’s) are being
stocked with pheasants? You can find all that
and more in Rhode Island’s Department of En-
vironmental Management’s (RI DEM) Outdoor
Recreation Atlas (https:/bit.ly/3emoloY). Our
newest interactive map leverages nearly 30 years
of GIS (geographic information system) data
collection throughout the state on properties
owned or managed mainly by RI DEM Division
of Fish and Wildlife for outdoor activities like
hunting and fishing. The map includes bound-
aries to all WMA’s and State Parks (developed
and undeveloped), hiking trails, bikeways, boat
ramps, check stations and much more. All this
information can be viewed easily from a desk-
top or mobile device.

Following the link above, you’ll see an initial
screen like Figure 1. The view will vary slightly
with the device (mobile device or desktop) you
use to access the map. If you are unfamiliar
with the map you can view or download a
printable page like Figure 2 describing the tools
available to help you find your way about. You
can turn layers (information displayed on the
map) on or off to see where they are in the state,
view recent aerial photography or topographic
maps, measure distances and even print out
your own customized map to take along with
you into the field.

Here are some quick tips for hunters:

o To see where you are in relation to property
boundaries, use a mobile device to zoom to
your approximate location by clicking “my
location.” This will zoom to your approxi-
mate location and can assure you that you

Figure 1

remain on state property and prevent you
from trespassing or deer hunting on private
property without permission.

To be sure you are the sufficient distance
from dwellings while hunting use the
measurement tool (small ruler toward the
bottom of the page). Click the measurement

tool, then in the pop-up window select the
middle option (line distance) and set your
units, default is in “feet (US).” Select your
starting point (ie., an occupied dwelling) by
clicking it one time, then double-click on the
place you planned on hunting. If you want to
restart your line, just click “Clear.”

DEM Outdoor Recreation Atlas

Whether viewed with phone, tablet or desktop computer, all
map fools and functionality are available, albeit in shghtly
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o To determine contact information for license
vendors open Layer List (looks like a stack
of papers). Click the drop down arrow on
the side of “DEM_Outdoor_Recreation” to
show more options and select the box to turn
on the “Fishing/Hunting - License Vendor”
layer. Click on any vendor location (red star)
for the name, address and phone number
(Figure 3).

o Ifyouare trying to determine what deer
management zone you or your hunting loca-
tion is in, use the “Hunting - Deer Manage-
ment Zone” layer.

» Use the “Hunting - Late Season Goose” layer
to make sure your are not goose hunting in a
closed area during the late canada goose season.

We think you’ll like our new map as it has a
variety of uses for hunters, anglers and out-
door enthusiasts. We highly encourage you

to check it out as it has more to offer than you
might think! The more you use it the more
you will become familiar with it and be able

to use all the tools it has to offer. If you have
questions, comments or concerns please feel
free to contact the Division of Fish and Wildlife
at (401)-789-0281 or email Paul Jordan at paul.
jordan@dem.ri.gov.

Article: oONLINE MAPPING

Fishing / Hunting - License Vendor: Peace
Dale Shooting Preserve

Fi 02879

Lo -71.49

Lat 41.47
ace Dale e e
Figure 3

Don’t Dig Yourself into Trouble!
CALL DIG SAFE BEFORE YOU DIG.

The Perfect Excavation:
Pre-mark the location of intended excavation using white stakes, paint or flags.
In MA, ME, NH and Rl, notify Dig Safe® at least 72 hours in advance.*

In Vermont, notify Dig Safe® at least 48 hours in advance.*

Notify non-member facility owners.

CALL )

Maintain the marks placed by underground facility owners.
Use caution and dig by hand when working within 18” of a marked facility.

If a line is damaged, do not backfill. Notify the affected utility company
immediately if the facility, its protective coating, or a tracer wire is damaged.

Call 911 if damage to pipeline results in a gas.release

Know your state’s excavation requirements

Go to digsafe.com for educational material and current laws. a e

*NOT INCLUDING WEEKENDS AND HOLIDAYS.

MA-ME NH-RI'VT
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Turkey HUNTING

Wild Turkey

BT T

October 1-31 1 either sex bird
April 24 - 25,2021 2 bearded birds'
April 29 - May 23,2021 2 bearded birds'

* See page 10 for more information on Youth & Paraplegic Hunt Opportunities
" No more than one (1) turkey may be taken on state lands during the spring
season. See Permits and Tagging for more information.

Fall Archery
Youth & Paraplegic*
Spring

General Rules and Regulations

The hunting of wild turkey is permitted statewide. Check local ordinanc-
es for firearm discharge restrictions. Firearms are permitted for turkey
hunting during the Spring and Youth & Parapelegic seasons only.

Hunting and shooting hours for the spring seasons, including Youth/
Paraplegic, end at 1:00 PM. All spring turkey hunters must leave the
woods by 1:00 PM.

Limited to: shotguns, gauges 10, 12, 16, and 20 only, with shot sizes
4,5, 6 and 7 magnum turkey loads only; and archery equipment.
Long bow, re-curve bow and compound bow must be set at not less
than forty (40) pounds for archers using fixed blade broadheads,

and a minimum of fifty (50) pounds for archers using mechanical
broadheads. Only broadhead tipped arrows with at least two (2) metal
cutting edges are allowed. All broadheads must be seven eighths (7/8)
of an inch or greater at the widest point including mechanical broad-
heads measured in the “open” position.

Hunters must carry a turkey-calling device (non-electric) while hunting.
Calling is the only legal method for hunting wild turkeys in the spring.

The use of decoys while hunting is allowed.

Each year, after the end of the spring turkey season, online surveys are
issued to Rhode Island turkey permit holders who have a valid email ad-
dress within the online licensing system. The completion of this survey
is vital to the turkey management program in Rhode Island and assists
DEM biologists in maintaining a successful wild turkey season for our
hunters. The Division requests your cooperation in filling out the survey,
regardless of success or participation in that years hunt.

Prohibited

The use of any unauthorized firearm, live decoy(s), dog(s), baiting,
cooperative drive(s).

The use of crossbows for turkey hunting.

Electric calling devices, or any other devices, to capture or ensnare turkeys.
The shooting of turkeys while roosting.

Stalking or attempting to sneak up on a turkey to get a shot.

The hunting, killing, taking, or attempting to take or possess, any
wild turkey by any individual unless they possess a permit to do so.
However, a person having a valid Rhode Island hunting license may
call turkeys for individuals with a valid turkey permit.

Possession of more than one firearm or archery implement while
turkey hunting.

Possession of a firearm while hunting for wild turkey during the fall
archery season.

Permits and Tagging
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A hunter may purchase, possess and use one (1) all lands turkey per-
mit and one (1) private land only turkey permit for the taking of one
(1) bearded turkey on each permit during the spring seasons.

« A hunter may purchase, possess and use one (1) fall either sex archery
permit, valid on both public and private property.

A person killing a wild turkey must immediately notch the month,
day, hour of kill and type of property taken on (private or public).
The carcass and notched tag must remain in the possession of the
hunter after the kill and while removing the carcass from the field.
Should the hunter leave the carcass prior to removal from the field,
the notched tag must be attached to and remain with the carcass.
After removal from the field, the notched tag must be attached

to and remain with the carcass until prepared for consumption

or taxidermy.

Reporting Your Harvest
The killing of a wild turkey must be reported to DEM using the online
harvest reporting website www.ri.gov/DEM/huntfish by 11:59 p.m. on
the date of the kill. The notched tag with harvest report confirmation
number must remain attached to the carcass until prepared for con-
sumption or taxidermy.

Please see page 8 for more details on tagging and checking wild turkeys.

Safe Turkey Hunting Is No Accident!

When compared to other sports activities (baseball, basketball and
swimming--injuries per hundred thousand participants) hunting is a
relatively safe activity. These comparisons should not cause any hunter
to take accident-free hunting for granted. Each and every hunter must
make safety the top priority of the hunt.

Very few hunting experiences compare with the exhilaration of turkey
hunting. A chance to spend a day afield in the turkey woods, enjoying
not only the hunt but also the splendor of the outdoors in spring makes
this experience worthwhile to sportsmen and sportswomen. This is a
privilege not to be taken for granted. Be sure that your turkey hunting
experience is an enjoyable one by observing these key ingredients for a
safe hunt:

Turkey Hunting Safety

o NEVER crowd another hunter working a bird and avoid high-pres-
sure areas.

o “Mistaken for game” accounts for 87% of all turkey hunting accidents-
Be sure of your target and what’s beyond.

o Use proper setup techniques — Sit against a wide tree to shield head,
neck and back. A tree is an effective blind as it breaks your outline.

o Never wear the colors red, white or blue while turkey hunting. These
colors mimic the colors of a male turkeys (gobbler) head and can draw
fire. Be totally camouflaged.

o Never stalk turkey sounds or turkeys — it’s unsafe and illegal. Never
use the sounds of a turkey to warn approaching hunters.

« Avoid using gobbling calls — which draw more hunters than game.

How to Tell the Sex & Age of a Turkey

Determination of the sex and age of a wild turkey is vital to the hunter,
since only bearded wild turkeys are “legal birds” in the spring season.
Proper identification of your target before shooting protects vulnerable
hen turkeys from accidental shooting during the spring nesting season.
The composition of the harvest provides biologists with information
about the flock and is important for making conservation and manage-
ment decisions.

Hunters are reminded they should use a variety of characteristics to
identify a legal bird, including behavior (strutting, gobbling) and color
(black body coloration, bright red, white and blue head color).
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Article: WILDLIFE OUTREACH PROGRAM

Wildlife Outreach P

By Mary Gannon, Wildlife Outreach Coordinator, RI DEM

Steel gray clouds race across the January sky,
and the wind whips sea foam up into the air
from where the icy waves pound the rocky coast.
Harlequin, eider, and an enormous raft of
black and surf scoter ride the treacherous surf
with ease. The ducks dive beneath the waves in
search of aquatic plants and shellfish, completely
unperturbed by the wind and cold.

The sun sets, and the gray, bare trees cast
long shadows over the ground. The stillness of
the dim, March evening is suddenly punctuated
with the shrill calls of spring peepers and subtler
clucks of wood frogs. A four-toed salamander
creeps underneath a log, and a toad hops across
the dirt path. Coyotes sing together in the dis-
tance, adding their voices to the spring chorus.

April dusk falls. A tiny, rapidly twittering
silhouette rockets across the soft blues and
purples of the evening sky. It descends, uttering
a more syncopated twitter, and then, silence.
From all directions, the shrubs and young trees
begin to emit strange sounds. “Peent!...Peent!”
After a moment of these cryptic announcements,
the timberdoodle once again begins his joyful
sky dance.

Morning sunlight lances through fresh leaves,
still supple and fuzzy in the May warmth. The
woods are alive with birdsong. “Sweet-sweet-
sweet, I'm so sweet!... Tea-kettle-tea-kettle-tea-
kettle!... Tea-cher, tea-CHER, TEA-CHER!”
How many singers are there? Occasionally,
bright-feathered gems flit through the foliage,
busy with the tasks of spring.

The warmth of the July day lingers as the
sun sets. Moths and mosquitoes float on the
humid air, and a heron glides across the sky to
its nighttime roost. With quiet squeaks, the little
hunters emerge, fluttering from the old rooftop
one by one. The bats turn somersaults and
change direction on a dime overhead, in search
of dinner.

N

You don’t have to go far or watch a nature
documentary to experience any of these tran-
quil scenes. All you have to do is attend one of
our family-friendly Wildlife Outreach Pro-
grams! In the age of smartphones, viral videos,
and social media influencers, scenes like these
are often forgotten or completely unknown to
the public. The goal of the Wildlife Outreach
Program is to connect Rhode Islanders of all
ages to our state’s wildlife and spread awareness
of the conservation work being done right here
in RI. Much of the wildlife conservation work
conducted by RI DFW, and corresponding out-
reach, is funded through the Wildlife and Sport
Fish Restoration (WSFR) Program. The WSFR
Program generates conservation funding
through hunting and trapping license receipts,
and a federal excise tax on firearms, ammu-
nition, and archery equipment. Thank you to
all of our hunters and trappers for responsibly
supporting wildlife management and conserva-
tion here in Rhode Island!

The Wildlife Outreach Program started in
2017, with one newly-hired staff member (yours
truly) and a handful of natural artifacts, in a
cabin office at the Great Swamp Field Head-
quarters. I began by visiting classrooms, and
then branched out to present public programs
at libraries, senior centers, farmers markets, and
eventually at State Parks and Management Ar-
eas. Some of my favorite programs to date have
been our annual, all-season outdoor programs,
such as Come Birding with Me, Vernal Pool
Night, Sky Dance Night, and Summer Bat Night.
I highly encourage hunters to attend these field
programs, as it’s so rewarding to learn about
the conservation work being done with your
support. You'll also deepen your knowledge of
RT’s wildlife species, which will only further
enrich your time spent in your tree stand, blind,
or on the trail!

rogram

The program has grown in leaps and bounds
since then. The cabin office now has a collection
of educational tools and artifacts to use for our
classroom programs. Our kids’ magazine, Wild
Rhode Island Explorer is consistently gaining new
subscribers and being circulated across the state
in schools and libraries. RIDFW now has a strong
Instagram following, in addition to our Facebook
page. In 2019, RI DFW hired Gabrielle DeMeillon
to assist with both the Wildlife Outreach and
Volunteer Programs. Together, we've been able
to develop the Rhody Critter Kit program, which
provides educators the opportunity to borrow five
Rhode Island wildlife-themed curriculum kits to
use in their classrooms for free. Three of the kits
focus on some of our most requested topics: birds,
bats, and reptiles/amphibians. Two additional
kits focus on habitat management in RI and the
role of hunting and trapping in modern wildlife
conservation and management. All kits include
information about WSFR-funded work in RI,
in order to raise awareness of this incredible
program that has benefited our state’s wildlife for
over 80 years. We plan to launch the kits in the
2020-2021 academic school year.

Recently, we've been producing fun, educa-
tional videos on RI wildlife conservation. Visit
the RIDEM’s YouTube channel to check out Gab-
by’s Creature Crafts series for kids, our virtual
field trips with biologists, and informative (and
occasionally humorous) conservation-themed
shorts. Unfortunately, our 2020 activities were
heavily affected by the COVID-19 pandemic.
However, we have been using this time to do
some behind-the-scenes work on program and
outreach resource development. Stay tuned! We
are incredibly grateful for the enthusiasm and
support in response to our outreach programs,
and look forward to what the future holds.

To stay up to date on upcoming programs,
visit www.dem.ri.gov/wildlifeoutreach.
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Small Game HUNTING

Small Game Hunting

Daily
Bag Limit

September 15 -

Coyote - State Land February 28, 2021 unlimited
April 29 - May 23, 2021
Coyote - Private Land No closed season unlimited
Raccoon October 1 - February 28,2021 unlimited
Youth Pheasant* October 10- 11 2
Pheasant October 17 - February 28, 2021 2
Cottontail Rabbit October 17 - February 28, 2021 3
g;:’;::ld = October 17 - February 28, 2021 5’;:'nig|y
aggregate
Bobwhite Quail October 17 - February 28, 2021 3
Red, Gray Fox October 17 - February 28,2021 unlimited
Ruffed Grouse CLOSED

* See page 10 for more information on Youth Hunt Opportunities

Management Area Check Stations

Small game hunters are required to check in and out of the state oper-
ated check stations at Great Swamp, Arcadia, Durfee Hill, and Carolina
Management Areas on the following dates: October 17 - 18, October 24

- 25 and October 31 - November 1. Check station hours are ¥ hour before
sunrise to sunset, except during the first four days of deer muzzleloader
season (Nov 7 - 10) when check stations will be open until 6:00PM. Hunt-
ers may be asked to produce harvested game for inspection.

Pheasant and Quail Hunting

A Gamebird Permit is Required to hunt ring-neck pheasant and bob-
white quail. The daily limit for pheasant is two (2) either sex birds and
the daily bag limit for quail is three (3). Pheasants are stocked prior

to opening day, then weekly through the end of December. Pheasant
stocking does not occur in January and February. Stocked management
areas are: Arcadia, Black Hut, Big River, Buck Hill, Carolina, Durfee
Hill, Great Swamp, Nicholas Farm, Sapowet Marsh, Simmons Mill Pond
and Eight Rod Farm.

Coyote Hunting

The hunting season for coyotes on state lands shall be from
September 15 until the last day in February, inclusive, and during
the open spring turkey hunting season, April 29 - May 23, 2021. The
hunting season for coyotes on Prudence Island shall be: on state
land during archery season with a valid archery permit, during the
small game season on private land, November 1 - 30 and on North
Prudence during the small game season, January 1 - 31, 2021.
There is no closed season for coyote hunting on private lands.

During the spring turkey season, coyote hunters must possess a
valid turkey hunting permit while hunting on state lands.

Coyote hunters on state lands must wear a minimum of 200
square inches of fluorescent orange during the small game
hunting season. During the shotgun deer season, 500 square
inches is required.

Block Island Pheasant Hunting

Pheasant hunting is open on Block Island, with written landowner
permission, on November 18 and 25, December 2 and 16 and January 6,
2021. Only male pheasants (roosters) may be taken from Block Island,
daily bag limit 2 per day.

Additional Regulations

The small game hunting season will remain OPEN during the December
shotgun deer season. This allows small game hunting on state manage-
ment areas during the shotgun deer season.

Muzzle-loading rifles, no greater than .40 caliber with round ball and
patch, may be used for hunting small game mammals during estab-
lished seasons.

Night hunting of raccoons with shot larger than No. 4 or rifles larger
than .22 cal. rimfire long-rifle is prohibited.

Archery hunters with a valid deer archery hunting permit may take
raccoon during legal deer hunting hours beginning on the first day of
October and ending on the last day of January.

Air Rifles

Air rifles are permitted to hunt the following small mammals: squirrels,
woodchucks, and cottontail rabbits, provided that the air guns are a
minimum of .177 caliber and not larger than .22; a minimum of 750 fps
velocity with pellets 7.5 grains or larger.

Reptiles & Amphibians

A current Rhode Island Hunting License is required to take snapping
turtles. A current Rhode Island Hunting or Fishing License is required
to take green frogs and bullfrogs. The possession, removal from the wild,
or killing, for any purpose, of any other native reptile or amphibian
(including their nests and eggs) is prohibited except by special permit
(RIHR 9.15.B).

The snapping turtle season is closed May 15 - July 15. The season bag
limit is six (6) turtles, and at any time shall be limited to turtles with a
minimum carapace length of thirteen (13) inches. Take is allowed by tur-
tle trap, hand, hand-held dip net, snagging, jugging, and bow and arrow.
Traps must include a tag with name and address of trapper and be set in
amanner that allows all turtles within access to the surface to breathe air
(RIHR 9.15.C). Take for the purpose of sale or any other purpose other
than personal consumption is prohibited.

The green frog and bullfrog season is closed June 1 - July 31. The daily
bag limit is 20 frogs (both species combined). Take is allowed by hand,
hand-held dip net, spearing, hook and line, and bow and arrow.

The placement or use of carcasses or meat parts thereof is
allowed on private property for the purposes of hunting coy-
otes. The placement or use of carcasses or meat parts thereof is
prohibited for purposes of hunting coyotes on state lands.

Shooting hours are ¥> hour before sunrise until 12 hour after sunset.

Legal methods of take for coyote hunting include shotgun (no
lead shot larger than No. 2) and rimfire rifle not larger than .22
caliber at any time, bow and arrow and crossbow; however, on
private lands from April 1 to September 30 (both dates inclu-
sive), centerfire rifles not larger than .229 caliber may be used
(RIGL 20-13-13) and by any means allowed during any concur-
rent hunting season. When coyote hunting during deer season,
the hunter must be in possession of a valid deer permit.

2020-2021 Rhode Island Hunting & Trapping Guide



Trapping

Season
Bag
Limit

Pelt
Tagging

Mink, Muskrat,
Skunk, Raccoon, November 1 -
Opossum, Weasel, none no
Red Fox, Gray Fox, ELUEIRTETl, AL
Rabbit
Coyote- Private no closed season
November 1 - none no

Coyote- State Land January 31, 2021

. November 1 -

- *

Beaver- Private March 14, 2021 . o
Beaver- State December 1 - y
Land* February 28, 2021
Fisher* December 1 -24 2 yes

* Special permit required in addition to Rl trapping license, which may
be obtained at Fish and Wildlife’s Great Swamp Field Headquarters
(401) 789-0281 or email DEM.DFW@dem.ri.gov

2020-2021 Regulations Changes - The fisher season bag limit has
been reduced to two (2).

General Regulations

» No person shall set, maintain, or tend any trap without first obtaining
a trapping license from the Department of Environmental Manage-
ment. A resident of this state may set traps on property which they
own and on which they are domiciled without obtaining a trapping
license (RIGL 20-16-7). All season restrictions, bag limits, tagging
requirements, and other trapping laws and regulations apply.

o Every holder of a trapping license shall make a report of the number
and species of all furbearing animals taken by him or her on forms
provided by the department within thirty (30) days of the end of the
trapping season and before the expiration of the holder’s license. No
renewal of a trapping license shall be granted unless the report has
been made (RIGL 20-16-12).

« Traps may not be set, staked, or placed prior to sunrise on opening day.

o All traps must have at a minimum the trapper’s current RI trapping
license number attached by a metal tag or embedded or cut into the
trap (RIGL 20-16-7).

o Written landowner permission is required to trap on private land
(RIGL 20-16-9).

o All traps must be checked at least once in every 24-hour period (RIGL
20-16-9).

o There is no open season on bobcat or river otter.

Types of Traps Permitted

Furbearers for which there is an open season may be taken in: box (a.k.a.
“cage”) traps, body-grip (a.k.a. “conibear”) traps, or species specific
traps, with the following restrictions:

Body-grip traps

Private land: Body-grip (a.k.a. smooth wire or “conibear”) type traps up
to six and one half (6.5) inch jaw spread (i.e. “110, 120, 160” or equiva-
lent) are permitted on land or in water on private land. Body-grip type
traps greater than six and one half (6.5) inch but not exceeding eight (8)
inch jaw spread (“220”) may only be set if completely submerged in water
or set no less than six (6) feet above the surface of the ground. Body-

grip traps greater than eight (8) inch but not exceeding ten (10) inch jaw
spread (“330”) may only be set completely submerged in water.

State land: Body-grip traps up to six and one half (6.5) inch jaw spread
are only permitted in water sets (i.e. all or a portion of the trap in water)
or if placed six (6) feet above the ground. Body-grip traps with a jaw
spread greater than six and one half (6.5) inches but not exceeding ten
(10) inches (“220-330”) may only be set if completely submerged in water.

Box traps
The use of box traps is permitted on private and state lands.

Species specific traps

The use of species specific traps is permitted on private and state land.
A species specific trap is characterized by all of the following: triggering
and restraining mechanisms are enclosed within a housing; trigger-

ing and restraining mechanisms are only accessible through a single
opening when set; access opening does not exceed 2 inches in diameter;
triggering mechanism can only be activated by a pulling force; has a
swivel mounted anchoring system.

Permit to trap state lands

All trappers harvesting furbearers from state management areas must first

obtain a Permit to Trap State Lands (no fee), issued by the Division of Fish
and Wildlife in addition to their current R.I. Trapping License. obtained
through the online licensing system: www.ri.gov/DEM/huntfish.
Prohibitions

« The use of poisons or snares (RIGL 20-16-6).

o The use of steel-jawed leghold traps (RIGL 20-16-8).

o No person shall disturb, tend, or possess a trap of another, or take an
animal from the traps of another unless specifically authorized to do
so (RIGL 20-16-11).

o The setting of traps within ten feet of a beaver lodge or bank den or

within eight feet of a muskrat lodge unless authorized by special permit.

o The taking or possession of a road-killed furbearer (RIGL 20-16-1),
unless with a current RI trapping license and during the open season

for that species or as provided for under a current RI Scientific Collec-

tors Permit (RIGL 20-1-18) or otherwise permitted by the Division.
o The relocation of beaver.

« The use of deadfalls, pitfalls, fish hooks, treble hooks, or other sim-
ilarly sharpened instruments to catch, capture, or injure furbearers
is prohibited.

Phéto by David Pouliot
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FROM WOODS TO WATER,

FIND YOUR NEXT ADVENTURE

WITH YOUR

RHODE ISLAND HUNTING & FISHING LIGENSE

DEM is proud to offer convenient access to
hunting and fishing licenses in-person at sales
agents across the state or directly through our
expanded online system.

It's easier than ever to purchase Rhode Island
hunting and fishing licenses, permits, and stamps
so you can get outdoors and enjoy the many
recreational opportunities made possible through
conservation and management of Rhode Island’s
natural resources.

DEM.ri.gov/huntfish is your entry point to help
plan your next adventure and make the most of
Rhode Island’s great outdoors. There you can find
maps of hunting areas and fishing access points,
answers to frequently asked questions, and more!

DEM.RI.GOV/HUNTFISH

www.DEM.RI.gov

) /rhodelisiandDEM
7 @rnodelslandDEM
@RI.fishandwildlife

DEM 7

RHODE ISLAND




Marketplace

McCoyHuntingRanch.com

Elk Hunts

COWS & “We have hundreds of acres
TROPHY BULLS - s of the best hunting area in the east”
Starting at $2,000.

No license required.
September-March.

]  (570)835-5341
Joe’s Taxidermy _| www.TiogaBoarHunting.com
STUDIO 1552 Mann Hill Road | Tioga, PA 16946 | tiogaboarranch@gmail.com

T

I
{
860.742.5014

1117 Flanders Road « Coventry, CT - 06238

Hunting Products Land Management

GRANBERG

ALASKAN MILLS,

DURABILITY. RELIABILITY. AFFORDABILITY.
SINCE 1957, GRANBERG INTERNATIONAL HAS BEEN PRODUCING THE
HIGHEST QUALITY CHAIN SAW MILLS AND ACCESSORIES AVALLABLE

ANYWHERE, OUR AVERICAN-MADE ALASKAN® CHAIN SAW MILLS GIVE

1 «Catquiver Mini

!
A\ | Shaggie Bowhunter »
%i 99 2= Ghilli

‘ & = ?3:;3‘5 LA APRCE T ONT BREACTHE B,
J CALL 1-800-233-6499
GUSTOM ORDERS WELCOME MAKING FORA F'\'ﬁ;?“;mﬁaﬂ ;::;:l:: : "II)EALER.
BLINDS ¢ FIELD BLANKETS ¢ BOAT BLINDS o SUPPLIES ' .
EMAIL FOR CATALOG = & EQUIPMENT
jerry@ranchosafari.com FREE CATALOG
2 Call 800-356-5189 or visit our
(760) 789' 094 website: www.alliedkenco.com

Seed & Fertilizer Sales
Food Plot Supplies « Trail Cams
Food plot consultation, over 15 years experience

Building and maintaining wildlife food plots
Mike Farnham www.morewildlife.net
802-249-1585 morewildlife@hotmail.com
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" RANGE « RETAIL « ACADEMY

LARGEST GUN & AMMO INVENTORY IN RHODE ISLAND * LONGEST INDOOR RANGE IN AMERICA

- Cigars - Camping  High Tower Hunts
- Fishing Gear - Simulation Rooms - Upland Hunts

- Qutdoor Gear « Guns & Ammo - Locker Rooms

» Clothing - Indoor Range - Academy Classes

&omzf ycm 721«& Lot TheSportingShoppe.com
401-247-4867 - 87 Kingstown Rd, Richmond, RI 02898


http://www.thepreserveri.com

