
STATE CONTRACT ADDENDUM 

RHODE ISLAND DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND TRAINING 

PREVAILING WAGE REQUIREMENTS  
(37-13-1 ET SEQ.) 

The prevailing wage requirements are generally set forth in RIGL 37-13-1 et seq. These 
requirements refer to the prevailing rate of pay for regular, holiday, and overtime wages 
to be paid to each craftsmen, mechanic, teamster, laborer, or other type of worker 
performing work on public works projects when state or municipal funds exceed one 
thousand dollars ($1,000). 

All Prevailing Wage Contractors and Subcontractors are required to:   

1. Submit to the Awarding Authority a list of the contractor’s subcontractors for any 
part or all of the prevailing wage work in accordance with RIGL § 37-13-4;

2. Pay all prevailing wage employees at least once per week and in accordance with 
RIGL §37-13-7;

3. Post the prevailing wage rate scale and the Department of Labor and Training’s 
prevailing wage poster in a prominent and easily accessible place on the work site 
in accordance with RIGL §37-13-11; posters may be downloaded at https://
dlt.ri.gov/requiredposters/ or obtained from the Department of Labor and Training, 
Center General Complex, 1511 Pontiac Avenue, Cranston, Rhode Island;

4. Access the Department of Labor and Training website, at https://dlt.ri.gov on or 
before July 1st of each year, until such time as the contract is completed, to 
ascertain the current prevailing wage rates and the amount of payment or 
contributions for each covered prevailing wage employee and make any necessary 
adjustments to the covered employee’s prevailing wage rates effective July 1st  of 
each year in compliance with RIGL §37-13-8;

5. Attach a copy of this CONTRACT ADDENDUM and its attachments as a binding 
obligation to any and all contracts between the contractor and any subcontractors 
and their assignees for prevailing wage work performed pursuant to this contract;

6. Provide for the payment of overtime for prevailing wage employees who work in 
excess of eight (8) hours in any one day or forty (40) hours in any one week as 
provided by RIGL §37-13-10;

http://www.dlt.ri.gov/lmi/business/post.htm
https://dlt.ri.gov/requiredposters/
https://dlt.ri.gov


7. Maintain accurate prevailing wage employee payroll records on a Rhode Island
Certified Weekly Payroll form available for download at https://dlt.ri.gov/wrs/
prevailingwage/ as required by RIGL §37-13-13, and make those records available
to the Department of Labor and Training upon request;

8. Furnish the fully executed RI Certified Weekly Payroll Form to the awarding
authority on a monthly basis for all work completed in the preceding month.

9. For general or primary contracts one million dollars ($1,000,000) or more, shall
maintain on the work site a fully executed RI Certified Prevailing Wage Daily Log
listing the contractor’s employees employed each day on the public works site; the
RI Certified Prevailing Wage Daily Log shall be available for inspection on the
public works site at all times; this rule shall not apply to road, highway, or bridge
public works projects. Where applicable, furnish both the Rhode Island Certified
Prevailing Wage Daily Log together with the Rhode Island Weekly Certified
Payroll to the awarding authority.

10. Any violation of RIGL 37-13-13 of Certified Weekly Payroll Forms and Daily
Logs will result in the department imposing a penalty on the contractor of a
minimum of one hundred dollars ($100) for each calendar day of noncompliance.

11. Assure that all covered prevailing wage employees on construction projects with a
total project cost of one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) or more has a OSHA
ten (10) hour construction safety certification in compliance with RIGL §
37-23-1;

12. Employ apprentices for the performance of the awarded contract when the contract
is valued at one million dollars ($1,000,000) or more, and comply with the
apprentice to journey-person ratio for each trade approved by the apprenticeship
council of the Department of Labor and Training in compliance with RIGL
§37-13-3.1;

13. Assure that all prevailing wage employees who perform work which requires a
Rhode Island trade license possess the appropriate Rhode Island trade license in
compliance with Rhode Island law; and

14. Comply with all applicable provisions of RIGL §37-13-1, et. seq;

Any questions or concerns regarding this CONTRACT ADDENDUM should be 
addressed to the contractor or subcontractor’s attorney.  Additional Prevailing 
Wage information may be obtained from the Department of Labor and Training at 
https://dlt.ri.gov/wrs/prevailingwage/.   

http://www.dlt.ri.gov/pw/pwFormsPubs.htm
http://www.dlt.ri.gov/pw
https://dlt.ri.gov/wrs/prevailingwage/
https://dlt.ri.gov/wrs/prevailingwage/


By: ________________________________ 

Title: _______________________________ 

Subscribed and sworn before me this ____ day of ______, 20__. 

________________________________
Notary Public
My commission expires: ____________ 

CERTIFICATION 

I hereby certify that I have reviewed this CONTRACT ADDENDUM 
and understand my obligations as stated above.   




