
Rhode Island 
Department of Environmental Management 
Office of Boat Registration and Licensing 
235 Promenade Street, 3rd Floor, Room 360 
Providence, Rhode Island 02908-5767 

Telephone (401) 222-6647  |  www.dem.ri.gov  |  Rhode Island Relay 711 

2024 RESIDENT STANDARD FISHING LICENSE /OVER 65 SHELLFISH LICENSE APPLICATION 
 

Customer # :_____________________Office Use only 
Applicant Mailing Address  Residence Address (Cannot be a PO Box) 
Name:____________________________   
Street:____________________________  Street:____________________________ 
City:________________RI 02_____  City:___________________RI 02______ 
DOB:_________________________   
Height:_______________Weight:________  Fisheries Lic# ________________________ 
Hair Color:____________ Eye Color:______   
RI Driver’s License # & Expiration Date:   
_____________________________ 

 Occupation: __________________________        

E Mail Address: __________________________________                                   
 
Has your commercial fishing license and/or permit been revoked or suspended in any state or jurisdiction? 
        Yes        No (Check One)  

 

*** (APPLICATION MUST BE RECEIVED NO LATER THAN 02/29/2024) *** 
 

Renewal Grace Period with $200.00 Late Fee March 1, 2024 – April 29, 2024– Does Not Apply to New License 
Applications – Renewal Licenses Only – It is unlawful to fish or sell fishery products without a current 2024 license 

Reporting Method – Check Method – Required of all  
Standard Fishing License holders other than those 
endorsed in Limited Shellfish  

                         Standard Fishing License $ 

             Renewal - Unlimited Shellfish       $ 
               Logbook Endorsement                    $25.00                               Limited Shellfish          $  
               VTR                                                    $0.00             Renewal - Unlimited Crustacean  $ 
               Electronic                                          $0.00                               Limited Crustacean      $ 
              Renewal - Unlimited Finfish         $ 
                                Limited Finfish            $ 
             Buoy Color (s) -   

                          Purse Seine                      $20.00 
                          Dockside Endorsement   $25.00 
  

                        SFO65+ Shellfish License $0.00 

Please refer to fee structure for pricing of Standard Licenses with Endorsements 

All holders of SFO65 & Standard Fishing Licenses endorsed with Limited or Unlimited Shellfish endorsement (s) must 
complete, prior to license issuance, the 30 minute on line shellfish harvester tutorial located 
https://www.ri.gov/dem/training/shellfish/ prior to the issuance of the license per 250-RICR 90-00-11 
 

RIGL §20-1-3(10) “Resident” means an individual who has had his or her actual place of residence and has lived in 
the state of Rhode Island for a continuous period of not less than six (6) months.  
Under penalty of perjury, I declare I am a Rhode Island resident and the information contained herein is true and 
accurate: 
 
Signature: ______________________________ Date: __________ Telephone # __________________ 
 
Notary Public ___________________________ Comm. Exp. ____________________  
 
Checks/Money Orders payable to RI, DEM, Credit cards accepted, convenience fees apply  
Every vessel engaged in the RI Commercial Fishing Industry must be declared on a Commercial Vessel Declaration 
Application. 
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RI Shellfish Harvester Education & Certification Program 
January 2024 

 

DEM launched an education and certification program in 2018 that is mandatory for 
everyone who commercially harvests and lands shellfish in RI. The goal of the program is to 
ensure that shellfish harvesters deliver a safe product to shellfish dealers and, in turn, to 
shellfish consumers. This course must be completed prior to the issuance of a new 
license/endorsement. 

In accordance with US FDA requirements, and new regulations adopted by DEM in 
2018, holders of all applicable commercial licenses and landing permits must obtain 
certification via the new program. Applicants must submit Certificate of Completion 
prior to license issuance (new applicants only).  

The certification requirement applies to: 

• All holders of commercial shellfish licenses -- i.e., Standard Fishing Licenses with 
Unlimited Shellfish endorsement; Over 65 Shellfish Licenses, and Student Shellfish 
Licenses; 

• All holders of Multipurpose Licenses who harvest shellfish; and 
• All holders of Landing Permits who land shellfish. 

The certification requirement applies to both License/Permit renewals and new 
Licenses/Permits, beginning in 2018.  Certification is valid for 5 years, after which re-
certification will be required. 

To obtain certification: 

Complete a 30-minute online tutorial, which is available here: 
https://www.ri.gov/dem/training/shellfish/ 

  

https://www.ri.gov/dem/training/shellfish/
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Taxation Certification Requirements 
 

A state law, enacted in 2004, requires everyone applying for any license from the state to first 
certify that they have filed all required state tax returns and paid all taxes due to the State, or 
entered into a written installment agreement with the Tax Administrator to pay delinquent 
state taxes. Accordingly, all applicants for new or renewed commercial fishing licenses must 
first complete one of the following two requirements: 
 

a) Sign a Taxation Certification, certifying compliance with all state tax obligations as 
noted above; the form must also include the applicant’s social security number or 
FEIN, or 

b) Furnish a Letter of Good Standing from the Tax Administrator. (401)574-8756. 
 

The Taxation Certification form is available from DEM; it may be completed at the counter 

while applying for a license or may be filled out online and submitted as part of the online 

renewal process. Letters of Good Standing must be obtained from the RI Division of Taxation, 
Collections Division, One Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908 (401) 574-8756. DEM will not 
issue any new or renewed license until the applicant has submitted a properly 
completed Taxpayer Affidavit or a Letter of Good Standing. 
 
Any questions regarding the new tax law should be directed to the RI Division of Taxation at 

401-574-8941. 
  



Rhode Island 
Department of Environmental Management 
Office of Boat Registration and Licensing 
235 Promenade Street, 3rd Floor, Room 360 
Providence, Rhode Island 02908-5767 

Telephone (401) 222-6647  |  www.dem.ri.gov  |  Rhode Island Relay 711 

 
 

Taxpayer Certification 
 
You are required to furnish your Social Security # or FEIN pursuant to Chapter 76 of Title 5 
and Chapter 3 of Title 31 of the RI General Laws, as amended. Any person applying for any 
license or permit to conduct a business or occupation within Rhode Island or any person 
renewing a motor vehicle operator’s license or motor vehicle registration within Rhode Island 
must have filed all required state tax returns and paid all taxes due the state or must have 
entered into a written installment agreement to pay delinquent state taxes that is satisfactory 
to the Tax Administrator. Failure to provide the Department with your Social Security # or 
FEIN will result in you having to obtain a Letter of Good Standing from the RI Division of 
Taxation, One Capitol Hill Providence, RI 02908 PRIOR to the issuance or renewal of your 
license. If you have any questions regarding your tax status, please contact Taxation directly at 
401-574-8941.  
 
I hereby declare, under penalty of perjury, that I have filed all required state tax returns 
and have either paid all taxes due the state or have entered into a writteninstallment 
agreement with the Rhode Island Division of Taxation. 
  

Applicant’s Signature ____________________________  Date ________________ 

Printed Name ____________________________________ 

Social Security # or FEIN ________________________ 

Marine License # _________________________________ 


	2024-counter-res-marine-lic-renewal.pdf
	2024 RESIDENT STANDARD FISHING LICENSE /OVER 65 SHELLFISH LICENSE APPLICATION

	2024ShellfishHarvesterTutorialFlyer.pdf
	taxpayer.pdf



