
R.I. Department of Environmental Management 
Division of Fish and Wildlife

2021-22 Waterfowl Seasons and Bag Limits

Season Dates Daily Bag Limit

Youth Waterfowl
Hunting Days* October 30 - 31, 2021 Same as regular season.

Youth Hunters ages 12-15 accompanied by a properly licensed adult, 21 years of age or older.

Canada Goose
Early Season September 1 - 30, 2021 15

Shooting hours are ½ hour before sunrise to ½ hour after sunset for the September season only.

Canada Goose
Regular Season

November 20 - 28, 2021 and  
December 4, 2021 - January 23, 2022 2

Permits and reservations are required to hunt the goose fields at the 
South Shore Management Area** in South Kingstown.

Canada Goose
Late Season January 29 - February 12, 2022 5

CLOSED in Newport County, and portions of Washington County 
as described in RI Hunting Regulations § 9.11(B)(3)(d).

Snow Geese
(Inc. Blue Geese) October 9, 2021 - January 23, 2022 25

No Poss. Limit

Brant December 5, 2021 - January 23, 2022 2

Possession Limit: Three (3) times the Daily Bag Limit 
(unless otherwise indicated)

* Youth Waterfowl Hunting Days
October 30 - 31, 2021

Youth hunters must be 12-15 years of age.

• May take ducks, sea ducks and geese following daily bag and possession limits for the
regular seasons.

• Youth hunters shall hunt only in the immediate company of a qualified, licensed adult,
21 years of age or older.

• The accompanying adult(s) are prohibited from hunting on Youth Waterfowl Hunting Days.

• Youth hunters and accompanying adults must have current Rhode Island hunting licenses
and H.I.P permits.

• Accompanying adult(s) must also possess valid state and federal waterfowl stamps.

** South Shore Management Area

• Permit and hunting log available 24 hrs/day through the online licensing system or the DEM,
Fish and Wildlife Great Swamp Field Office during normal business hours.

• Reservations are required to hunt the Canada Goose Regular Season.

• Reservation information available from the DEM Fish and Wildlife Great Swamp Field Office
or on the website.

• Closed during the Canada Goose Late Season (January 29 - February 12, 2022).

Division of Law Enforcement 
24hr Violation Line: (401) 222-3070



R.I. Department of Environmental Management 
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2021-22 Waterfowl Seasons and Bag Limits

Season Dates Daily Bag Limit

Ducks
October 8 - 11, 2021

November 24 - 28, 2021
December 4, 2021 - January 23, 2022

6*

* The daily bag limit shall include no more than two (2) mallards of which one (1) 
may be a hen, three (3) wood ducks, two (2) redheads, two (2) black ducks, one 

(1) pintail, one (1) or two (2) scaup (see below), and two (2) canvasbacks. 

Scaup

October 8 - 11, November 24 - 28, 
December 4 - January 3, 2022 1

January 4 - 23, 2022 2

Mergansers Same As Ducks 5**

** No more than two (2)/ day may be hooded mergansers.

Coots Same As Ducks 15

Sea Ducks¹ November 25, 2021 - January 23, 2022 5***

¹ Except for the periods of November 25 - 28, 2021 and December 4, 2021 - January 23, 2022, 
sea ducks may only be taken in the Special Sea Duck Hunting Area. 

See RI Hunting Regulations § 9.11(D)(1) for details. 

*** The daily bag limit is 5, singly or in aggregate, but not to exceed 
4 Scoter, 4 Eider (1 Hen), or 4 Long-tailed Ducks.

Swans CLOSED

Harlequin Duck CLOSED

Possession Limit: Three (3) times the Daily Bag Limit.

2021-22 Waterfowl Regulation Highlights

• The eider daily bag limit remains 4 birds but only one may be a hen.
• Scaup has been split into two seasons;

 » October 8 - 11, November 24 - 28, December 4 - January 3, 2022 with a daily bag limit of 1.
 » January 4 - 23, 2022 with a daily bag limit of 2.
 » The daily bag limit of scaup is part of the duck daily bag limit of 6.

• Shooting hours are ½ hour before sunrise to sunset unless otherwise noted in the regulations.
• Discharge of a firearm within 500 feet of an occupied dwelling is prohibited.
• Non-Toxic Shot Requirement: The possession of shells loaded with any shot other than 

non-toxic shot by any person hunting waterfowl, rails or snipe is prohibited.
• Cripples may be pursued, shot and retrieved from a boat under power in tidal waters sea-

ward of the first upstream bridge; crippled birds must be immediately killed.
• Closed Areas: See regulations for a list and descriptions.

Waterfowl Stamp and H.I.P Permit

• All waterfowl hunters sixteen (16) years of age and older are required by law to purchase a Rhode 
Island Waterfowl Stamp as well as a Federal Migratory Bird Hunting and Conservation Stamp.

• State waterfowl stamp certifications issued through the web-based online licensing system 
need not be signed.

• Physical State Waterfowl Stamps obtained from the Division of Fish and Wildlife and Federal 
Ducks Stamps must be signed by the hunter across the face of the stamp and carried at all 
times when hunting. 

• All migratory bird hunters, regardless of age must possess a current Harvest Information 
Program (H.I.P) Permit.

*  Note: This card is meant to provide a convenient summary of the dates and regulations but is 
not comprehensive. See the complete regulations for more information. 




