Arborist Licensing in Rhode Island
Rhode Island requires that all practitioners of arboriculture be licensed. The Urban and Community Forestry Coordinator oversees the licensing and exams for arborists working in RI. This includes all Tree Wardens, as defined in RI General Law § 2-14. In 2019 there were more than 700 arborists licensed in RI.
- RI statute regarding licensure
- Rules and Regulations for Licensing and Registration of Arborists (250-RICR-70-00-1)
Back to top
Rhode Island Aborist Licensure Examination
Exams are offered several times per year and require pre-registration and payment of an exam fee of $25.00. Please download the registration form to your computer before completing. The registration form and $25 fee must be received no later than two (2) weeks prior to the date of the exam. Checks should be made out to “RIDEM, State Forestry Fund” and sent to:
Division of Forest Environment
Urban and Community Forestry Program
235 Promenade Street, Suite 394
Providence, RI 02908
- No refunds or credits for exam “no shows”.
- If retaking the exam within 12 months of the original exam date the fee is $10.
- The exam requires a minimum score of 70% to pass.
- Upon successful completion of the exam, the $25 yearly license fee is required.
- Exemptions to the exam maybe permitted upon proof of up-to-date arborist certification with the International Society of Arboriculture (ISA). The $25 license fee will apply.
Exam Location and Time
The exam starts at 9:00 AM
Types of Exams
There are two categories of licensed arborists and associated exam:
- Standard Arborist License: issued to persons who pass an examination which includes all phases of arboriculture OR,
- Limited Utility Arborist License issued to persons who pass a reduced examination limited to trimming, pruning, limbing, removal, identification of trees, and safety practices relating directly to providing clearance for the safe and reliable operation of utility lines and equipment. This is allows the practitioner to work with/for RI utilities but not in general arboriculture.
Upcoming Exam Dates
*Due to the COVID-19 health crisis, everyone taking the exam is required to wear a face mask and practice social distancing. Seating will be assigned to support physical distancing.View Upcoming Exam Dates
Questions about the exam, location or results: contact Lou Allard, U&CF Program Coordinator at firstname.lastname@example.org
Back to top
Rhode Island State Aborist Licensure Renewal
The Rhode Island Arborist License expires December 31 and must be renewed yearly. Reminders are sent out in the spring for the license fee of $25 to maintain licensed status. Licenses that have been lapsed for more than 12 months are required to retake the exam with all associated fees.
Questions about license standing or payment: contact Lou Allard, U&CF Program Coordinator at email@example.com