Boating Safety Topics
Who Needs Certification Certification Requirements Classroom Courses Online Courses Boating Exams Replace A Card Boating Accident Form General Boating Info/Resources Public Launching Sites Boat Registration Marine Pump-Outs
WHO NEEDS TO BE CERTIFIED:
- You were born after January 1, 1986
- You will be operating a Personal Watercraft (Jet Ski), regardless of age and regardless of residency
- If you are an Out-of-State Resident and operating a vessel (other than a Personal Watercraft-see above), you must meet the requirements of your home state in order to operate in Rhode Island Waters. For questions, contact DEM/Environmental Police 401-222-3070.
- Mandatory Boating Safety Education Information About the Law
HOW TO GET CERTIFIED
There are two methods for certification:
- You can take a classroom course offered by our state-approved course providers.
- You can study online using our state-approved online course which will then require you to pass a proctored exam.
Please see links below to our state-approved classroom course providers. All courses must be a minimum of 8 hours and state and NASBLA approved.
- USCG Auxiliary - RI
- IN-COMMAND training for boating education and training
- USCG Auxiliary - RI/MA/ME/NH
- USCG Auxiliary 2020 Classroom Course Schedule
- U.S. Sailing-Basic Powerboat Safety Courses
- Boatwise, LLC
- US Power Squadron
- RI Boating Courses with Freedom Boat Club
ONLINE STUDY COURSE:
To receive certification via our online study course, you must complete the state-approved course by Boat-Ed. Once you have completed the course, you must pass a proctored exam. Information on this exam is provided below. Boaters can also request a home study course booklet by contacting DEM/Environmental Police at 401-222-3070.
Back to top
HOW TO GET REPLACEMENT BOATING CARD
BOATING AND ACCIDENT FORM
A boating accident report must be filled out by the owner/operator of any vessel that meets the following criteria:
- Loss of life or disappearance from a vessel.
- Injury to any person that requires medical treatment beyond ordinary first aid.
- Property damage in excess of $2,000.
- Complete loss of a vessel.
Back to top
BOATING SAFETY & GENERAL BOATING INFORMATION
- Requirements and Standards for Vessels and Associated Equipment (250-RICR-80-00-1)
- RI Handbook of Boating Laws & Responsibilities
- Online Paddlesport Safety Course
- USCG: Engine Cutoff Switch Law
- Explore RI (Boat Access and Hiking Trails)
- Discovering the Rhode Island Shoreline
- Marine pumpout information
- Marine pumpout facility locations map
- List of State Boat Ramps
- Rhode Island Tide Charts
- Free NOAA Nautical Charts
- Preventing Boat Engine Pollution
- Stop Invasive Species Boat Ramp Sign
- GREAT Boaters Program
- Safe Harbor Policy
- Cold Water Survival Video
- Boating Safety Coloring Book for Kids
BOATING RELATED BOARDS & COMMISSIONS
- RI Pilotage Commission
- RI Derelict and Abandoned Vessel and Obstruction Removal Commission
- US Coast Guard's Boating Safety Website
- National Safe Boating Council
- National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA)